Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a kick butt recipe I love it(so does everyone else)! I made it in a 9X13 Baking pan instead, baking time is the same, makes it a little thicker. Added a 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon to the pastry. I'm not sure why everyone else says there is not enough pastry though, I can still make it fit a 10X15 cookie pan. I found that rolling the pastry out on parchment paper worked out well, if you don't roll it out thin enough the pastry is to thick, and didn't make the "frosting". This is definitely apple pie on a bigger scale, you certainly get a lot more pieces, this hasn't lasted long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was GREAT!! The only problem I had was trying to get the crust over the pan. But it turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Looked for a recipe with apples and this is definitely a keeper. My family and l loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crownedprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Just okay. Easy to make but can't compete with a traditional apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
i was very excited about this recipe. i had high hopes, only to be sorely disappointed :( first of all, the "cake" part was more like a pie crust. i don't do pie crust. i added sugar and cin to the crust as did some other reviewers. the filling was lovely, but wasted between a really bad crust. i will ask on the exchange if anyone can figure out what went so wrong with this recipe and maybe give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong but my dough was only enough for about a 10 inch square pan. So it turned out to be 2 inches thick but it was just so good I didn't care. Everyone loved it. I'll try again and make 1 1/2 or 2 times the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
absolutely excellent. rolling out the batter and placing it in the pan was long and difficult (batter was EASY) but well worth it. so many people have asked for the recipe! very happy and pleased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AdoraM
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This turned out beautiful to take for a Christmas Dinner Celebration at my son's house today 12/19/09. This is my second Apple Sheet Cake that I have made. I add about 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon & a 1/4 cup of sugar to the pastry mixture. Extra flour was also needed to be able to make it into a large ball to separate. This rolled out very easy on my Tupperware pastry sheet & transferred well into a 9x13 sheet cake pan. I used a mixture of 2 apples sweet & tart. I thought it presented well with added candy/cookie sprinkles on top to make it more festive & make a nice picture to add to Allrecipes. Thank you for the recipe. This was a request for today's celebration from my daughter who sampled the 1st one I made in October.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was so yummy! I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. My only complaint was it overflowed and dripped all over the bottom of my oven causing alot of smoke and a small fire in the bottom of my oven. That won't stop me from making it again. Next time I will be better prepared and put foil down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This dessert was good...not knock your socks off, but good. I will use butter next time in the crust instead of shortening, less sugar in the filling, and apple pie spice in place of half the cinnamon...I also halved the icing part....I must say for someone who doesnt care for cooked apples, this was a good recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States