Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I would had given this five stars, but the dough recipe does not fit the pan size...I should had read the reviews prior to making this and I would had increased the dough by half. Good tasting, and I will make it again for sure. Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I am subtracting one star because I needed a bit more flour in order to be able to roll out this dough comfortably (I used buttermilk instead of milk, but this should have required less flour than milk). For the filling, I halved the sugar, because I drizzled caramel sauce over the apples (which was probably a mistake, because the caramel and apple juice boiled out of the pan a bit). Other than that - this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Very good! The only thing I did different was to use whole wheat white flour and to make 1 1/2 times the amount of dough. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Excellent recipe!!! I pretty much followed the instructions except I added two teaspoons of cinnamon. I agree with other reviews that the pastry was hardly enough. You have to roll it very very thin to get it all covered. As it was I didn't have enough to put up the sides of the pan. I did feel the crust was lacking flavor but the filling made up for it! Next time I will tweek the pastry as others have recommended. It only lasted two days at my house since my son-in-law took home half the pan! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I've tried other apple sheet "pies" and this is, by far, the easiest and best. The dough rolls out beautifully without crumbling up and breaking apart like other doughs I've tried. In fact, this is the reason for my high star rating - the dough. Also, you don't need all that butter on top of the apples. I used 1/4 cup the second time I made this and couldn't tell any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I thought this was good but nothing special. It was kinda boring actually. I added 1/4c sugar and 1/2t cinnamon to the crust like others suggested. I felt it was lacking something and had too much crust. Maybe it gets better as it sits but not totally impressed with what i have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Used whipping cream in stead of milk and an egg wash instead of glaze on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My husband really liked this, but I wasn't so thrilled with it. Too much crust for me. I used Jonathan apples, but 30 minutes of cooking didn't cook them down enough to my liking. Not sure what other apple to use, but one that cooks down quickly would be my preference. I added chopped cranberries which made a nice color and tartness to apple mixture. I baked it in a 9x13 baking pan. I will definitly make this again, but will tweek what I didn't care for and think it will be as tasty as my hubby (and his finicky brother) thought it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Sooooo good!!! I personally don't like apples in cakes or pies. But i mean this is totaly the best apple sheet cake ever. Try it, it is for sure a 5 star recipe. Or maybe a 500 star recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 100%good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a kick butt recipe I love it(so does everyone else)! I made it in a 9X13 Baking pan instead, baking time is the same, makes it a little thicker. Added a 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon to the pastry. I'm not sure why everyone else says there is not enough pastry though, I can still make it fit a 10X15 cookie pan. I found that rolling the pastry out on parchment paper worked out well, if you don't roll it out thin enough the pastry is to thick, and didn't make the "frosting". This is definitely apple pie on a bigger scale, you certainly get a lot more pieces, this hasn't lasted long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States