Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Wow! These came out great... fluffy and not-too-sweet. HEADS UP--I needed to add about 1/4 cup less milk, or more flour, to given them a real scone-ish consistency. So quick and easy. I would recommend putting some spice into the batter, though, to liven them up... a cinnamon/ nutmeg/allspice combo worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
These scones are wonderful. I added cinnamon to the dough as many of you have. Instead of apples I used peaches and it turned out just delicious. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
i was quite pleased with this formula. the recipe was clear and the end product disappeared before i could even officially serve it. no more Starbucks scones for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I was hoping for the type of scone you find in coffee shops. The only reason why this fell short is because it has more of a cakey consistency. The apple was mild and it was not too sweet. Good warm with a little butter spread on top. Not hard to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I don't know what went wrong. I used a tasty granny smith apple, and added apple pie spice to the dough, but there was just no flavor. I won't be making these again. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
My first attempt at making scones and they turned out great! I really like this recipe, it's easy & they are very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are pretty good. If you want them to bake up a little better use 2 cups of self-rising flour vs. all purpose, 1/4 c. of sugar, 1/2 tsp. of baking powder, 1 tsp. of cream of tartar, and 1/4 tsp. of salt. Freeze the butter and grate it on a cheese grater. I added 1/4 tsp. of nutgeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and vanilla. I always use half and half instead of milk. I used a red delicious apple and added 1/4 c. of raisins. These came out nice, but next time I might add two apples for more apple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
These were ok. The apple taste did not stand out so well, and the apple I got was ripe. Perhaps I should have purchased a Granny Smith rather than a Fugi. I would make again as it isquick and good with some butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Fantastic, I love these scones well done. I had to make a second batch, they were eaten up almost as soon as they came out of the oven. I added some rasisns to the second batch very good......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I'll add more than 1/4 cup sugar. It's tasteless, and I couldn't taste or smell the apple at all. Was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States