Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very good, I made mine in the food processor and it was super easy. I added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and I had two small apple. I added a simple glaze when they cooled a bit instead of the cinnamon and suger. My husband had never had scones before and he is very picky and he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vavseba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
quick qnd tasty have made them multiple times to rave reviews. I dice instead of shred the apple for more taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Good taste but doesn't quite have the texture or consistency of a traditional scone. Give it a try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These stayed moist and yummy and froze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Not bad, but I would reduce the amount of baking soda. You can taste it, I will try this recipe again with less baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these scones with a few adjustments. I added 3/4 cup chpped pecans and 1/2 cup golden raisens to the batter. The dough was quite dry so I added 1/2 apple and another tablespoon of milk. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamom to the dough. These were wonderful! The aroma was enough to bring my husband in the shop. Will make these many times. Grandma Gin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I cut the servings in half and my scones turned out perfect. This was my first attempt at making scones so I was really surprised how easy it was. They were so fluffy and soft - I will never buy scones again. I did also add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and added a whole apple in stead of a half (I only made a half batch) the my scones where full of flavor. I made them tonight for breakfast tomorrow morning - they never made it past the cooling rack! Today, I made these again but instead of apple and cinnamon I used orange (pulp) and clove. They turned out delectable. I also topped these with an orange glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I always experiment so added Shredded carrots and some rolled Barley...Great with soups if you leave off the cinn. sugar on top... Can brush egg wash on tops and sides for a golden look before baking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Benson Thompson
Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
We liked this recipe a lot and it was quick and easy to make. I am going to experiment with different types of apple to enhance the apple flavor. I used gala today and the apple was very mild. I think my family will be asking for these again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Overall, not bad. I added spices, and fresh it was ok. But, for me, the baking soda taste was too much. I am very careful with measurements, but I couldn't stand the taste of baking soda in these. After they were cool, it was even stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States