Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Instead of 1 apple I added about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of finely chopped apple, and a little honey to the milk "topping" in step 2. Also recommend not using a mixer, use a wooden spoon- results will be better for the dough. All in all a new family favorite, I will definitely be making these again. I only just took them out of the oven and already over half are gone. 2 batches next time I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These are good. I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the dry mixture...and cut them into triangles on the parchment covered baking sheet. I really like them and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is great. I made this recipe as written and it was delicious. But it would be even better if some cinnamon was added to the dough itself as other people have written. Also, needs to be some more apple. The apple flavor was not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Didn't taste the apple at all.. maybe needs some apple sauce and some spices in the batter. Not sweet enough, but that's a personal preference. Might try again with alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
These were not to our liking but that does not mean they were bad. They were just a bit too dry and bland for our tastes. I will try them again and add an extra apple - the apple flavor did not come through at all. I will also try adding some spices to the mix - maybe cinnamon, nutmeg & ginger. Raisins might be a nice addition also. Even though they weren't our favorites they do go well with a cup of coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
If you can find them, cinnamon chips are a good addition to this recipe. Ii also like to add nuts. I add nuts to everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esthersue
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
best scones ever. hands down. i used whole wheat flour, added 1 tsp cinnamon to the dough as well as 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp allspice. this added insane delicious flavor. also chop up the apple and mince it as opposed to grating the apple. it ensures you really taste the apple and texture of it. i brushed melted butter over all the scones once i pulled them out of the oven. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Good recipie. I added allspice (a pinch) and more cinimon and the taste was great. Really healthy, would recomend for breakfast. Left the plate quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Not enough flour... Not enough apple... but other than that, a really great recipe :) I added cinnamon to the batter as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Outstanding. I added a bit more sugar and some cinnamon to bring out the apple flavor and they were delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States