Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Oh my these are simply amazing. This was my first time making scones and these turned out perfectly (I baked them in a convection oven too) I found they needed a tablespoon extra of milk though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My favorite thing Ive ever baked! I added one Granny Smith apple and one Gala apple, also chopped them instead of grate. They were fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Perkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were tasty, due to the spices I added per someone's suggestion, but not very much apple flavor. I suggest adding twice the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe. I doubled this recipe, used whole wheat flour, skipped all of the white sugar and used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and added a teaspoon of cinnamon in to the recipe. The result was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsgypc
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Terrific! I added cinnamon in the scone batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Instead of 1 apple I added about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of finely chopped apple, and a little honey to the milk "topping" in step 2. Also recommend not using a mixer, use a wooden spoon- results will be better for the dough. All in all a new family favorite, I will definitely be making these again. I only just took them out of the oven and already over half are gone. 2 batches next time I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These are good. I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the dry mixture...and cut them into triangles on the parchment covered baking sheet. I really like them and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is great. I made this recipe as written and it was delicious. But it would be even better if some cinnamon was added to the dough itself as other people have written. Also, needs to be some more apple. The apple flavor was not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Didn't taste the apple at all.. maybe needs some apple sauce and some spices in the batter. Not sweet enough, but that's a personal preference. Might try again with alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
These were not to our liking but that does not mean they were bad. They were just a bit too dry and bland for our tastes. I will try them again and add an extra apple - the apple flavor did not come through at all. I will also try adding some spices to the mix - maybe cinnamon, nutmeg & ginger. Raisins might be a nice addition also. Even though they weren't our favorites they do go well with a cup of coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States