Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made these scones because I had a lot of apples in the house that were about to go bad and I didn't want to waste them. I adjusted the recipe slightly to fit my families needs. Since I couldn't make the scones dairy I substituted margarine for the butter and rice milk for the milk. I also added chocolate chips to the scones since many reviews stated that they needed a little more zing. Instead of making the dough into circles and filling them with the sugar and cinnamon I rolled the dough into three inch circles and sprinkled the sugar mixture on top. I will probably make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Oh my these are simply amazing. This was my first time making scones and these turned out perfectly (I baked them in a convection oven too) I found they needed a tablespoon extra of milk though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My favorite thing Ive ever baked! I added one Granny Smith apple and one Gala apple, also chopped them instead of grate. They were fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were tasty, due to the spices I added per someone's suggestion, but not very much apple flavor. I suggest adding twice the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe. I doubled this recipe, used whole wheat flour, skipped all of the white sugar and used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and added a teaspoon of cinnamon in to the recipe. The result was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsgypc
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Terrific! I added cinnamon in the scone batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Instead of 1 apple I added about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of finely chopped apple, and a little honey to the milk "topping" in step 2. Also recommend not using a mixer, use a wooden spoon- results will be better for the dough. All in all a new family favorite, I will definitely be making these again. I only just took them out of the oven and already over half are gone. 2 batches next time I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These are good. I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the dry mixture...and cut them into triangles on the parchment covered baking sheet. I really like them and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is great. I made this recipe as written and it was delicious. But it would be even better if some cinnamon was added to the dough itself as other people have written. Also, needs to be some more apple. The apple flavor was not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Didn't taste the apple at all.. maybe needs some apple sauce and some spices in the batter. Not sweet enough, but that's a personal preference. Might try again with alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States