Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
So good! Added just a little more sugar and used a Granny Smith apple. I used less than 1/2c milk, just enough to make it stick together. Dough was sticky but workable. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. These scones were divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Okay but not great, did not have enough of the apple taste for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
All I can say is yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Didn't have an apple flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
These were delicious. I added two apples for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I made this recipe before I went to work this morning. It took a little longer than 15 minutes to prepare and I baked them as drop scones instead of wedges, but the taste is fantastic, the consistency is perfect, and at 3 points, is so much better than the 11 point scones at Starbucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very tasty, but mine turned out more like a coffee cake than a scone. Will definitely try again perhaps using less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These are wonderful! Per others suggestions, I did sprinkle in a little cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, but otherwise follow the recipe as written. Yummy! My family and I thought they tasted like apple fritters only without the guilt of being deep fried. We're adding this to our favorites! Thanks for a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I loved these! These are moist and dense and so easy to make. Not too sweet and a great way to use fall apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is a great scone recipe. I highly recommend it. I changed the baking powder and added cinnamon and nutmeg into the batter. I did not want to use my milk since I only had enough left until tomorrow so I used half and half. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States