Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Wow! These came out great... fluffy and not-too-sweet. HEADS UP--I needed to add about 1/4 cup less milk, or more flour, to given them a real scone-ish consistency. So quick and easy. I would recommend putting some spice into the batter, though, to liven them up... a cinnamon/ nutmeg/allspice combo worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
These scones are wonderful. I added cinnamon to the dough as many of you have. Instead of apples I used peaches and it turned out just delicious. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
i was quite pleased with this formula. the recipe was clear and the end product disappeared before i could even officially serve it. no more Starbucks scones for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I was hoping for the type of scone you find in coffee shops. The only reason why this fell short is because it has more of a cakey consistency. The apple was mild and it was not too sweet. Good warm with a little butter spread on top. Not hard to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I don't know what went wrong. I used a tasty granny smith apple, and added apple pie spice to the dough, but there was just no flavor. I won't be making these again. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
My first attempt at making scones and they turned out great! I really like this recipe, it's easy & they are very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
These were ok. The apple taste did not stand out so well, and the apple I got was ripe. Perhaps I should have purchased a Granny Smith rather than a Fugi. I would make again as it isquick and good with some butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are pretty good. If you want them to bake up a little better use 2 cups of self-rising flour vs. all purpose, 1/4 c. of sugar, 1/2 tsp. of baking powder, 1 tsp. of cream of tartar, and 1/4 tsp. of salt. Freeze the butter and grate it on a cheese grater. I added 1/4 tsp. of nutgeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and vanilla. I always use half and half instead of milk. I used a red delicious apple and added 1/4 c. of raisins. These came out nice, but next time I might add two apples for more apple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Fantastic, I love these scones well done. I had to make a second batch, they were eaten up almost as soon as they came out of the oven. I added some rasisns to the second batch very good......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I'll add more than 1/4 cup sugar. It's tasteless, and I couldn't taste or smell the apple at all. Was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States