Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Not bad, but I would reduce the amount of baking soda. You can taste it, I will try this recipe again with less baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these scones with a few adjustments. I added 3/4 cup chpped pecans and 1/2 cup golden raisens to the batter. The dough was quite dry so I added 1/2 apple and another tablespoon of milk. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamom to the dough. These were wonderful! The aroma was enough to bring my husband in the shop. Will make these many times. Grandma Gin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I cut the servings in half and my scones turned out perfect. This was my first attempt at making scones so I was really surprised how easy it was. They were so fluffy and soft - I will never buy scones again. I did also add cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and added a whole apple in stead of a half (I only made a half batch) the my scones where full of flavor. I made them tonight for breakfast tomorrow morning - they never made it past the cooling rack! Today, I made these again but instead of apple and cinnamon I used orange (pulp) and clove. They turned out delectable. I also topped these with an orange glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I always experiment so added Shredded carrots and some rolled Barley...Great with soups if you leave off the cinn. sugar on top... Can brush egg wash on tops and sides for a golden look before baking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Benson Thompson
Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
We liked this recipe a lot and it was quick and easy to make. I am going to experiment with different types of apple to enhance the apple flavor. I used gala today and the apple was very mild. I think my family will be asking for these again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Overall, not bad. I added spices, and fresh it was ok. But, for me, the baking soda taste was too much. I am very careful with measurements, but I couldn't stand the taste of baking soda in these. After they were cool, it was even stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
It was tough to rate this recipe. I gave it 3 stars because I felt that it could have been a little sweeter, and the apple taste didn't really come through. But I wanted to give more stars because it was super easy to make. Like other people I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. Next time I will double the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg and maybe add some more sugar. With a little work, this could be an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is one of my favorite new recipes. Works well with alternative ingredients: spelt flour, almond milk, and Earth Balance Margarine. They freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I loved these! Also added some cinnamon to the recipe. They are best when fresh as they are so nice and crisp on the outside, moist on the inside. I had many leftovers so I've been microwaving them when I want a piece. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good recipe, added ad little cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States