Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i didnt follow the recipe exactly, i added a bit more sugar,4 shakes of nutmeg, cinnomon,and cloves. used buttermilk instad of milk, and just added more flour wen needed. my family loves them they are awesome.thank you for the BASE recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe! These were just the right consistency and texture. I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the butter/flour mixture to add a little extra flavor. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I followed others advice and only added 1/4 cup of milk and added cinnamon and nutmeg to dough. I also topped with finely chopped crystallized ginger. These turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
very good scones texture but they had no flavor. i will change the spices next time. and add double the apples. but still pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this recipe and after reading some of the reviews I added cinnamon, nutmeg & allspice to the batter. I also added about 1/4 tsp of vanilla and two apples. These came out very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My first time making scones. I also added cinnamon to the dough. They turned out great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Eh, just so-so. I didn't have much luck with these. The dough was mush so it wasn't easy to knead without sticking to everything. I added extra apple and cinnamon after reading other reviews and I still thought these were bland. Not awful, just not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
These are awesome!! Woke up one morning to make muffins, had no eggs so made these instead, and was very surprised! They smell so good baking too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Yummy recipe! I took the advice of some others and added spices b/c I think it would otherwise be bland. (I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. nutmeg and 1/8 tsp. cloves) I also wanted them to be somewhat sweeter than the average scone. --I'm not a fan of blah food.-- ;) So, I added about 2 tbsp extra brown sugar to the mix and a little extra white sugar. The result was perfect!! Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Love it, and will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casey
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Just made these and they turned out great! Not an extremely strong apple flavour though. I had mine just out of the oven with butter and a glass of milk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France

Displaying results 61-70 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States