Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
After reading the reviews, I stayed with the recipe on the wet/dry ingredients. Added two small chopped gala apples, and cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. The first batch didn't seem to be cooked all the way through; second batch I used the combo setting of convection/microwave and it turned out better. I think what's really missing here from the flavor is the butter... I think the better scone recipe to use for a base is this one: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cranberry-scones-2/detail.aspx Just change out the cranberries for apples and cinnamon. I used splenda instead of sugar in both recipes and it worked fine. Although my husband like these scones I probably won't use this recipe again. The other recipe is so much richer and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very yummy and we add whater we feel like at the time...try bacon and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I followed some other reviewers' advice and added a second apple, plus 1/2 tsp cinnamon mixed in with the batter along with 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also used Splenda in place of sugar, whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose, and margarine in place of butter and had no issues. I then sprinkled the top of the 6" circle with a tablespoon of splenda and additional cinnamon, and cut it into 8 scones. I think I might swap some of the flour for oats next time, just to shake things up, but they're still delicious without that particular extra touch. Also, I was in a bit of a fluster when I was making these (long and unrelated story) and added the liquids before I realized I had not yet cut in the margarine. So I cut it in as I simultaneously mixed in the liquids, just moistening the dry. No problems came of my err. A nice, simple recipe, and my kitchen smells so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was excenlent. Doubled the recipe and made it for 6 picky kids. They lovved it and they were filled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These have a great taste - we loved them. But I did have to use probably 1/3 cup more flour so I could knead them like it says. Without this extra flour the dough was just like muffin batter - way to sticky to knead. This time I made them I didn't add the extra flour - I just kind of kneaded then with the spoon in the bowl and mounded it on the cookie sheet. They are still in the over - We'll see if they turn out any different. Regardless, I will continue making these. It's great to find a scone recipe without a huge amount of butter or cream. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This recipe was the easiest scone recipe that I have ever used. The scones came out fluffy and absolutely the right sweetness. I served them with our afternoon meal of hot soup and salad and they were a big hit with my husband. It is number one on my guest menu. Have made the scones several times and they are always a success. I did not change any ingredients in the recipe but if you like it sweeter, by all means add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Easy to make and good but the consistency is not truly scone-like; to me they were more muffiny. Be careful when adding the milk; add it by the teaspoon so that it doesn't get too wet; the flour/butter mixture gets plenty wet when the apples are added so you might not need to add much of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These came out perfectly and my daily loved them! I added just a little more apple to strengthen the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Pretty good, but added 1/4 c milk, double the sugar, and cinnimon/allspice/clove mix to the batter and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are excellent, not too sweet scones. Usually, they're loaded with butter/sugar or both - but not these scones!!!I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the batter, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and 3 tbsp of flax seeds for some fiber. Serve by themselves or with scrambled eggs and sliced cheese, and you have a hearty breakfast!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States