Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very good. Used honey in place of sugar and added extra grated Granny Smith apples. Added 1 t. cinnamon to the dry mix. Also added raisins which made this more sweet and tasty. (And I don't usually like raisins in my baking but my husband loves raisin apple combinations). I used cream instead of milk. Skipped the butter / cinnamon on top just cut cold frozen butter and added to mix with cinnamon. We will be making these again. Needed 5 extra minutes to bake than directions perhaps since I added extra grated apple. Very moist recipe and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
delicious. i added a bit of cinnamon in the batter, and it really helped bring out the apple flavor. i'm going to experiment with a drizzled icing o go on these, as i think that would be fab as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
excellent! easy to make, fluffy, and delicious! a good size too. nice snack sized to have with a coffee at work instead of going to the shop :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My son is allergic to eggs, so it's always a challenge to find eggless baking recipes - but this is a WOW! I have 3 little boys, none of which are big eaters, and they ate the entire batch in 1 morning - I had to make another batch the next day. I added both cinnamon and freshly ground nutmeg to the dough - YUM! I did find that I had to bake them a bit longer than the recipe says - about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made these scones because I had a lot of apples in the house that were about to go bad and I didn't want to waste them. I adjusted the recipe slightly to fit my families needs. Since I couldn't make the scones dairy I substituted margarine for the butter and rice milk for the milk. I also added chocolate chips to the scones since many reviews stated that they needed a little more zing. Instead of making the dough into circles and filling them with the sugar and cinnamon I rolled the dough into three inch circles and sprinkled the sugar mixture on top. I will probably make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Oh my these are simply amazing. This was my first time making scones and these turned out perfectly (I baked them in a convection oven too) I found they needed a tablespoon extra of milk though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My favorite thing Ive ever baked! I added one Granny Smith apple and one Gala apple, also chopped them instead of grate. They were fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Perkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were tasty, due to the spices I added per someone's suggestion, but not very much apple flavor. I suggest adding twice the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe. I doubled this recipe, used whole wheat flour, skipped all of the white sugar and used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and added a teaspoon of cinnamon in to the recipe. The result was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsgypc
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Terrific! I added cinnamon in the scone batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States