Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
So easy; so good. And they reheat well -- just give a couple of wedges 30 seconds in the microwave. You need a big apple, though. If your apples are small, use two of them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I thought these were ok. The taste was very tasteless and the apples didn't come through. Also it needed much more milk than it said, i put about a cup of milk more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this recipe as writted, but used 2 small granny smith apples and added about 1 tbsp vanilla. I also used my Nordic Ware scone pan and they came out PERFECT looking. They are, however, a bit plain. Definitely good to eat, but a little on the plain-tasting side. Next time I think I'll add a little cinnamon to the actual dough. Otherwise, these are very quick and easy to make and don't require a lot of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I made this recipe with gluten free flour and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGUNTICOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Great scones! I have some leftover apples from apple-picking and EVERY weekend I've been using an apple to make these scones. They disappear quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The basic recipe was excellent, but I found it needed a few changes. I added more flour to thicken the dough and also a 1/4 to a 1/2 teaspoon each of cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg for additional flavor. The results were fantastic and every scone disappeared off the top of the stove before they had even finished cooling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I would definitely cut down on the liquid as others have mentioned. Otherwise, the flavor is subtle and the butter comes through well. I couldn't taste the apple too much, but a dash of cinnamon complemented the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Delicious! My family of 4 (including 2 under age 4) had no problem finishing the whole batch for breakfast! I made a couple of minor changes...including using half whole wheat flour and adding a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. I used the whole 1/2 cup of milk and the dough was not too sticky as some said. It was perfect. At the last minute, I decided to whip up a little glaze of powdered sugar, apple juice, and cinnamon to drizzle on top. That made them extra special. I'll be making these again, tomorrow actually, and many more times for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Still not quite the scone I'm looking for, but it may have been due to my alterations. I realized I had no baking apples, so I went with strawberries and shredded coconut. I added a heaping half-teaspoon of cinnamon and went with half whole-wheat. Not too fluffy or too sweet. They rose more than I expected to next time I'll flatten them out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I tried to make scones once before and they ended up burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. So anyway I'm trying to give it another go this time kneeding it less. I swapped a couple of things...I added in raisans, took out the apple, used ghee instead of butter cause we were out and also used a tsp of cinnamon instead of 1/2 and also added in 1/2 tsp allspice and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I coated it with just milk and white sugar. I also didn't have any bi-carb soda so I used 3 tsp of baking powder. I really regret using the ghee as I don't think it's usually used in baking and gives a strong smell that I quite dislike when it's cooking-I have gotten a headache. I doubt anyone would sub it in instead of butter-but just a warning. DON'T! I'm still giving this recipe 4 stars just because I didn't follow it exactly and if I had butter I'm sure that there might have been a better result. It did brown nicely though although inside wouldnt very scone-like..you might need more flour. Oh and ghee is purified butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States