Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I have never made scones, but this recipe was very simple and easy to make. The scones were very light and fluffy, but could use more apple i think. Overall nice low calorie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
In the interest of time I chopped the apple instead of shredding it and used a cookie scoop to make "mini" scones. I rolled them in the cinnamon sugar mixture before baking. A tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
YUM! My son went to the pumpkin patch for a field trip and they got to pick apples so this is what we used them for. They where delicious! the only thing I changed was that I drizzeled them with a simple glaze. My son was so happy that his apples where so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Brown
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These were excellent and not too sweet. I added about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice directly to the dough as well. I didn't have any milk and used cream instead, which was marvelous. The dough at first was very, very dry and almost impossible to incorporate all of flour, so I added about 1 Tbsp. plain yogurt to make it a little smoother. I would recommend baking them 11-12 minutes instead of the full 15 to keep them from being crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kahori526
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
It was good. You might want to eat with Apple Jam and butter, since scones are not sweet. I had them with cream cheese and honey and they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
The end result was good. I just had a hard time with the dough it was way too sticking even after adding more flour. Plus I didn't get any apple flavor. I doubt I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These were pretty darn good...but they had a problem: no flavor. I covered the scones in Cinnamon and Sugar, as i really love cinnamon.But even with that it was not to flavorful.It needs more to it. The only change I made was using heavy cream instead of milk, because i was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These scones turned out perfect, not too dense, not too fluffy. Because the dough was sticky, I skipped the kneading and just dropped the scones by spoonfuls onto a baking sheet. They turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly except I also added a hint of cinnamon & nutmeg to the dough. I used a large granny smith apple and added the exact amount of milk in the recipe but it came out dry and not sweet enough for my taste. Will try again with maybe more milk or (like my favorite scone recipe suggests) a spoon of sour cream. Used frozen butter and shredded it in my Cuisinart, then used the dough blade to assemble the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alysha Meeks
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Amazing scones. This is my first attempt at making them. I ended up changing the recipe a bit: doubling the sugar, adding 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp cinnamon, as Kristiegreen suggested. Also, I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup more flour than the recipe call for, as the dough came out really sticky. However, they came out tasting sweet and rich and I'd make them again in a second!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha Meeks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States