Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was great! I used three chopped Granny Smith apples and the consistency held together very well. I added to the batter cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and vanilla, but it was too much and didn't taste sweet enough. Next time I will add 1t cinnamon, 1/4t nutmeg, and 1t vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Just ok! I doubt if i will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Dry and unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmarie2715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Good base for scones: but adding 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the batter, and upping the sugar will produce a better tasting scone in this recipe. Otherwise, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Not a lot of flavor, not sure if it needs more apple, more cinnamon or more of everything! But decent when you want something to slather butter on and have with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These were very good, though more moist than the scones I'm used to. More muffin-like. I added cinnamon to the dough as suggested by others, and I used buttermilk instead of regular milk, as that's all I had. Also, I finely chopped the granny-smith apple instead of shredding it, as this seemed easier, and I added raisins for extra sweetness. Yum! Finally, whenever I make scones, I never bother to shape them. I just scoop them out into big blobs on my baking stone, like with lumpy-bumpy biscuits (if you know what I mean by that). Much easier and they taste the same no matter how they look. I will definitely make these again, though probably with regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was nice, but a little bland even though I added extra cinnamon. It made a nice textured scone and was a nice change for the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
too chewy, no apple flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
these scones with a few minor changes were excellent, I cook for some kids with lactose intolerance i used vanilla enriched rice milk doubled the butter to make up for the loss of milk fats and made a spread out of cream cheese brown sugar nutmeg and folded in a little whip cream . they were a huge hit try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
my best friend just loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States