Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It was a great scone! Not too sweet, and you really can taste the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Yu
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. It can also be made with water for lactose intolerancy, but use half as much cuz water is thinner. I chopped my apple into small slices and bits, which works well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I really enjoyed these! I would rather use apple pie filling or chunks of apple rather than having it shredded. I also added more sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter for extra taste and sweetness. This is a easy recipe and great for fast breakfast or a on the go snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are pretty good. If you want them to bake up a little better use 2 cups of self-rising flour vs. all purpose, 1/4 c. of sugar, 1/2 tsp. of baking powder, 1 tsp. of cream of tartar, and 1/4 tsp. of salt. Freeze the butter and grate it on a cheese grater. I added 1/4 tsp. of nutgeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and vanilla. I always use half and half instead of milk. I used a red delicious apple and added 1/4 c. of raisins. These came out nice, but next time I might add two apples for more apple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I followed suggestions to reduce the milk by half and also doubled the recipe without problems. Rave reviews from coworkers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These are great scones! My twist to these already good scones is to increase the sugar to 1/2 c,lactaid milk to 1/2c add 1 tsp Maple flavoring, 1/2 tsp of allspice and forgo the currants. I formed these into individual scones, patted them in flour and then after placing them on baking sheets, sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon. I baked them for approx 12-15 minutes. They were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Pretty bland. Cakey. Not scone type. It was salvagable with some fruit marmalade. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I also found that reducing the milk was necessary and spice was needed, so I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. each of nutmeg and allspice. They were a huge hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theriddlefam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This recipe was not good. I had to add almost 3 times as much milk to get a dough. I had to make it for 25 minutes rather than 15. It smelled really good while baking and tasted wonderful but was still a little doughy and left a bad aftertaste. I will be taking this one out of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Bottom line: these are pretty good. Their flavor isn't going to blow you away, but they have a nice consistency to them. They would be a good side for a Sunday breakfast or brunch. I added cinnamon to the dough, and I got a decent (gentle) flavor out of a fuji apple. (I left the skin on because I hate peeling apples.) I also substituted soy milk, and because I had some "dying" grapes in the fridge, I quartered about 1/4 cup and added them in. (Remember not to stir/kneed too hard! This is not a wine press! lol). I definitely think I'll make them again, but I want to investigate adding nutmeg, and probably allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States