Apple Sausage Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The sausage pancakes were good, but what really makes this recipe 5 star is the apple cider syrup. I used Honeycrisp apple cider as the base and fresh squeezed lemon juice to cut the sweetness of the cider. Definitely will stay in the "go to" recipe box! Thanks Kathy for a great twist on a breakfast staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This didn't go over so well. Won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbrowning
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
These pancakes are wonderful but the syrup is even better! I doubled the recipe and my husband ate the leftovers for lunch. He said they were just as good warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Granby, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
OMG, what a great surprise! We loved these pancakes and I usually don't care for specialty pancakes. The syrup really made them taste great. I did use apple juice in the syrup because I had no cider but everything else was done as written. Thanks for a great autumn pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were soooo good! My 16 yr old son just asked me to make them again today, but I'm out of sausage :0( I'll be making a trip to the store to make them tomorrow though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Boy these are a lot thicker than that picture! I love thick pancakes though so no complaining here ;) That syrup was SO GOOD! The savory sausage goes so well with the sweetness of the syrup and tartness of the apple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Using what we had on hand, substituted 1/2C of unsweetened applesauce for the apples, melted shortening for the oil, maple syrup, and fat-free half and half for the milk. The batter was a little thick but the pancakes were great. I would also like to try this recipe as written with the cider syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I really liked the pancakes, but I loved the syrup. I'll make these again! I got six pancakes out of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I thoroughly loved this recipe. My partner hated it because it "reminds me of egg foo young," which he detests. He wanted the apples cooked in the syrup served over pancakes with the sausage on the side. GO FIGURE? The syrup was especially great, even though I substitute 100% apple juice for the cider. Can't wait to get our cider pressed and try it again. I used Stayman Winesap apples that held their crunch and it was great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Really good, and easy. We used maple sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Thornell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Oak, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States