Apple, Sausage, Bacon, and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We served this for a special dinner, and it was a big hit! Everyone commented on the great flavor! I made it pretty much exactly as specified (but I don't really measure) and we really enjoyed it. We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Haven't made this recipe but it sounds a lot like the one I make. Instead of the cream of chicken soup - I use cream of mushroom soup. Instead of the bread cubes I buy a packaged unseasoned stuffing mix and use the seasoning packet sparingly (I believe the spices are similar to yours). Also,for the meat portion I use Hawaiian Portuguese Sausage and add golden raisins. Instead of the applesauce I dice Fuji apples. A retired firefighter gave me this recipe a long time ago - I have never made any other stuffing and am always asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Nothing but compliments! It was absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am not a stuffing fan, but when I found this recipe I thought it was worth a shot. I, along with my entire family LOVE this stuffing. It is so full of flavor. It could be a meal in itself. My kids even like this. HINT: I used a 14 oz bag of dry bread cubes, once with plain and once with seasoned and BOTH were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the third year making this stuffing. I thought I had lost the recipe. This made me a turkey stuffing pro when I made this. It was a major hit. Great mixture of flavor. It will all be gone before the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was the first time I have used this recipe and it was a HUGE hit. Not one ounce was left over (Ill make more next time!). Next time I am going to add one more (Granny Smith) apple as I loved the texture and the sour kick it added to the sweetness of the meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent we love it. Prep time took a bit - defiantely more than listed and I was not sure if I should have the bacon precooked before adding or not. I used sage sausage and sage onion stuffing cubes so didn't add he sage. I also added a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach after the apples and water chesnuts. I doubled the recipe and used one can cream of chicken and mushroom and one can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
loved it! Definately glad I had a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I put this stuffing in cupcake tins and they came out wonderful. I tried it at Thanksgiving and I forgot to add the apple sauce and it came it just fine. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlnavarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was an excellent stuffing recipe. I feel quilty only giving 4 stars, but I'm just not a huge stuffing fan. I chose this because my family loves mushrooms. For stuffing, it couldn't be any better. I used straight sausage, about 3/4 pounds because that's what I had leftover from another recipe. I skipped the apples and applesauce all together, I don't like fruits with veggies in a recipe. I didn't quite dump in the entire pound of dry bread, cause I was afraid of dry stuffing. It turned out great. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States