Apple-Raspberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This recipe was great! But, I did make some changes. I decreased the amount of Brown Sugar mixed into the fruit to 3/4 Cup. The CRISP mixture I thought was odd. All other crisps I have ever made had sugar in that part of the recipe. I made it as directed (melted butter and no sugar) and it was mushy, tasted horrible. and was not crumbly as it says on the recipe. So I threw that whole mess away and started the CRISP part over. I used the exact same ingredients and added 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar to the CRISP mixture and DID NOT melt the butter. The mixture then did get crumbly and when baked it was VERY CRISP. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
4 stars for the apple-raspberry part, as that was very tasty. However the crisp part was very bland, which may have been my fault because I added more flour as it was a big mushy mess. If I try it again, I will add the sugar to the crisp part as the previous reviewer suggested. I also used mixed berries (blue, straw & rasp) and that went great with Breyers vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the sweets Cindi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I made this for a family dinner and it was fantastic with vanilla ice cream. I increased the recipe by 3 and followed the suggestions of the previous review that added brown sugar to the apples and cut the butter into the topping mix instead of melting it first. It really made an excellent topping. The raspberries gave it a nice tartness to the dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Correction: The butter is melted in this recipe, and is stirred into the flour and oat mixture, not cut in as previously published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Too sweet if recipe is followed. Use 1/2 sugar with apples, then add sugar to the crisp mix, along with chopped walnuts. Extra raspberries work too. I cut butter in cold to the crumble mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I followed the recipe and made the crisp according to the suggestions made previously to add extra brown sugar and NOT melt the butter. It came out great, nice and crumbly. Unfortunately, my only complaint is that the apple raspberry filling was tasty, but runny. I don't remember reading where any one else experienced this, so I guess that it was something I did. The dish, however, tasted wonderful. I'll certainly try it again. Note: I mixed a little corn starch with the excess liquid and baked an extra 5 minutes. This "thickened up" the filling a bit. It still was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Delicious! I added some extra raspberries and put in fewer apples. A little too much cinnamon in the topping. Definitely something I'll make again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
it was the BEST!!!the apple-raseberry flavour was really sumtin'only a few changes: 1- half a tsp cinn. in the apples/raseberries 2-half a cup brown sugar in the crumble to make it "crisper" it was so good! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was good, but without the crisp, it can't be great in my book. Also, I would add a little more flour to the apple-raspberry mixture; the final product was too thin. I agree other reviewers that the raspberries are a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this recipe as without substitution. I knew that it wasn't going to taste like my usual crisp (in which I use more oatmeal and I put the sugar in the crisp) but I was open to trying something new. And I LOVE it. An open mind is the only ingredient missing from the original post. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States