Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was really good and really easy. I did make a couple of changes. I personally don't like globs of cream cheese in my breakbast bakes. I added a tbsp of sugar and a tsp of cinnamon to the cream cheese and mixed it until creamy with my electric mixer. Then I spread it on each piece of bread before I cut it. A bit of extra work but it tastes better to me. I also added a tsp of vanilla to the eggs. Next time I would add another apple and mix it in with the bread as well as on the top. Thanks, I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
629 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui Waring Beal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers and only used 6 eggs, half of the cream cheese, and I added vanilla and cinnamon. I also upped the temp to 350, and it was delicious! Moist, but not soggy. It even kept well for several days in the fridge, and I ate it for breakfast! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I have never had so many people ask me for a recipe! I made it three times and each time it was the hit of the brunch. Two tips: I recommend Pepperidge Farm bread--it's denser than the store brand I used the first time. I also used fat-free half and half the second two times to lighten the calories, it went undetected. (Next time, I'm also going to try egg beaters!) Really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I made this for about 20 guests and people loved it! I followed some of the other users ideas and used apple pie filling instead of apples, cut the eggs back from 8 to 6,used fat free half and half, spread the cream cheese instead of using cubes and baked it for about an hour. I also used Trader Joe's cinammon swirl bread, it's thick and dense. It's really easy and super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Update: I had no 1% milk, which is what I normally use, and I had very little half and half. I looked up a sub for half and half and it said I could use evaporated milk so I used a can of evaporated milk with half and half added to make 2 cups total. I now see why some said it was like bread pudding. It is much lighter and fluffier using 1% and I won't make it with heavier milk again. Original review: As per other suggestions I used only 3/4 package (6oz) of cream cheese spread on pepperidge farms cinnamon swirl bread (no raisin fans in our home), 1 can of apple pie filling sprinkled with cinnamon, only 6 eggs, two cups of milk and 1/4c. margarine. I covered well and then used three bags of beans (bags of water would work if closed well) on top to weigh it down and make sure the egg mixture was absorbed evenly. It cooked at 350 degrees for one hour, covered with foil first 30 minutes to keep it from drying out. It came out perfect. Fluffy, not too moist and absolutely delicious. Can't wait to have it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
This recipe turned out great. I did substitute a few items. I used cinnamon swirl bread for the bread, fat free half and half for the cream,egg substitute for half of the eggs,light cream cheese for the cream cheese and I didn't use any apples. No one in our Sunday School knew that it was made light. Everyone loved it. This was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This recipe is amazing!! I cooked it this weekend for a small group of people and everyone absolutely loved this recipe. I changed the recipe slightly by lightly sprinkling brown sugar and cinnamon over the cream cheese and cubed raisin bread. Also this recipe is quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarkingFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I hate to be the odd man out, but I was not impressed with this recipe. It was very plain and mushy--maybe adding less liquid would make it a bit better. I cooked it for over an hour; if you decide to try it, and use the same amount of liquid the recipe calls for, plan for extra baking time. Even the people I made it for seemed to agree, and even adding a spice (like cinnamon) would not make it better. I am not making this again--there are so many other recipes on this website that are better than this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I didn't have the time to let mine soak 2 hours, but it was so tasty! The perfect combination of flavors and it smelled like cinnamon buns while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Very good. I used a loaf of semolina raisin bread (day-old at my store for half the price) and added my own cinnamon to the mix. Used neufchatel cheese and fat-free half and half. I refrigerated overnight and didn't find it too soggy at all. I did bake at 350 for longer than specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States