Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I have to say that I wasn't overwhelmed with this recipe when made as stated. It seemed mushy/gritty because of the cream cheese. I also tried reducing the amount and/or making it with the cream cheese spread on the toast before cutting and had the same results, and also tried reducing the # of eggs to 6. It tasted better cold than warm, as well. If I were to make it yet another time, I would for sure eliminate the cream cheese to see if it helped the strange texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I made this as a Mother's Day brunch, and it turned out fantastic! I didn't have cinnamon raisin bread on hand, so I just used white sandwhich bread. Like other reviewers mentioned, I spread the bread with the cream cheese (which I had mixed with a tsp of vanilla, some cinnamon and allspice) and laid the slices in the casserole dish instead of cubing the bread and sprinkling it with the cream cheese. I also doubled the amount of apples, and coated them with a little cinnamon and sugar before adding them. I followed the rest of the recipe to the "T," and we all loved it! My mom said it was the best part of her Mother's Day...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bacisgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I was not as impressed with this recipe as I thought I would be. I'm not sure why, but I was expecting something a little more spectacular. I will probably make it again, but in the future I think I'll try cutting off the crusts of the bread before cubing it to keep the consistency a little more "constant" throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alannakaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this for Mother's Day brunch and it was a big hit with everyone! After reading previous comments, I altered the recipe slightly, but think we would have enjoyed it if I had made it just as directed. I sliced the apples instead of dicing, using 2 cups instead of 1; I added raisins to the middle layers and the top and sprinkled brown sugar on top of the apples. I also served it with homemade syrup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Loved it, though I tweaked it a bit like other users. I added 2 heaping Tbsp brown sugar, 1 Tbsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon to the cream cheese and mixed it really well, spread it on the bread, then cubed it. I cut the eggs to 6 instead of 8 and used 2 cups of apples instead of one. Dusted with powdered sugar after it baked and it came out Fantabulous. I make this every time it is my turn for breakfast at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a hit at my Easter brunch. Made some simple changes, added enough apples to cover the pan, used the whole slice of bread instead of cubes, added a tsp of vanilla extract to the egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter breakfast, and I so wanted to like it, unfortunately it was very bland. Might try making it again and adding more cinnamon etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
As written, this was a gooey mess. We ate off the top, but the rest went to the chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This has been a crowd pleaser whenever I bring it to a brunch. Modifications- I beat the cream cheese w/ a hand mixer, add in 2tsp of vanilla extract and a tsp of cinnamon. I also use whole slices of bread and I spread the cream cheese mix on top of each slice as a previous reviewer said. I use the Cinnibon bread and golden raisins, it's amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlingnicky
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Not much flavor going on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States