Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This strata seemed a bit bland to me somehow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Maybe its personal taste, but I didn't care for it at all. I don't like the soggy bread texture and like others said, it didn't end up having any flavor. The apples were the only good part. This is the first time for me that a high rated recipe on allrecipes.com didn't turn out delicious. What a disappointment :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Bland and flat tasting. I think maning french toast with raisin brand and adding toppings would be easier and quicker. Waste of time IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was so good and so easy to make! After reading other reviews, I added a little cinnamon vanilla to the egg mixture. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was easy to make & tasty! Not to sweet. I used granny smith apples. I plan to try it with various apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coaco1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Was kind of bland. Did not go over with my family & guest. To much cream cheese. I will make again, but, will cut the cream cheese in half & will add cinnamin, nutmeg & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very bland. Made it for Easter breakfast and no one really liked it. It lacked flavor. Perhaps more cinnamon or some vanilla or soemthing would have helped, but had alot left over because no one really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this for our church's Easter breakfast. It looked so yummy and had such good reviews that I didn't try it out first. It was a HUGE hit and I enjoyed making something new. We didn't get to eat it for about an hour after I took it out of the oven (it hung out in my Pyrex carrier), and I did not take extra maple syrup. It did not need it (probably because of the pie filling sweetening it up) but when I make it at home I will drizzle on more because you really can't have too much real maple syrup! Based on other reviews (and my being too tired to face peeling and dicing apples) I did substitute the can of apple pie filling for the diced apples. I also added a couple of handfuls of Craisins. I also heeded the advice to up the temp to 350 and baked for 50 minutes. I also used a few bags of beans to weigh it down as it soaked overnight. The strata puffs up A LOT, so be sure to use a large enough baking dish - not all 9x13 baking dishes are created equal. It will settle back down as it sits - after 5 minutes I was able to put the lid of my carrier on it with no problem. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Cut the entire recipe by 75% and made it in a 7 x 11 dish. Used Cinnamon Swirl w/out raisins, honey instead of maple syrup. Refrigerated for about 12 hours. Everyone loved it, second helpings all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The recipe was a hit with Easter brunch at my home. The changes I made were; doubling the recipe (used 11x15x3 glass dish), on one loaf I spread cream cheese on the slices of Pepperidge Farm Cinn Raisin bread, the other loaf I did not, the 2nd pkg of cream cheese was chunked and put on top of the apple layer, I added 1Tbsp of vanilla to the liquids, I used 2 ups of 1% milk (rather than 1/2 and 1/2) and 2 cans of apple pie filling carefully layered (rather than the work of peeling and coring fresh apples). It was covered with saran wrap and soaked overnight (didn't need to weigh it down). baked at 350 for 1 hr then kept in warming oven til serving. Next time I will spread the cream cheese on all of the bread...chunks were not the favorite. One 4x4 slice was enough for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States