Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Fabulous recipe, though a bit basic and after reading through previous users' reviews I made some tweaks per their suggestions as follows: Cream Cheese - I spread on bread prior to cubing. Time consuming to cut up bread with cream cheese but worth it as I don't like chunks of cream cheese as was suggested by the original recipe. Eggs - I used 8. Will use 6 next time. Spices - I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg, and .25 tsp cloves. I sprinkled a bit of brown sugar over the apples as well since some users suggested it wasn't sweet enough. Apples - I opted for 1 large can of apple pie filling but felt I could have used 2 cans, though next time I will use 1 can apple pie filling and maybe 2 medium fresh apples for a bit of "crunch". Baking temp/time - Per users' reviews, I baked uncovered at 350 degrees for 60 minutes. Perfect! Not soggy in the least. Refrigerates well, and tastes even better the next morning in my husband's opinion ;-) I think that if you are a real cook you will love it. For those who said it was bland or soggy, my thoughts are that they are beginner or amatuer cooks bc this was my first time making it and I am by no means a professional chef and it was super easy to prep Christmas Eve, and even easier to pop in the oven the next morning for Christmas breakfast. Perfect timing - pop in before presents and voila! Complete breakfast is ready by the time the gifts are unwrapped and GREAT when you are feeding a large crowd! Happy cooking my friend ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Florida, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Excellent! Made for Christmas morning 2012, everyone ate it right up! Making it for me own birthday breakfast this week! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arm5510

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Was really mushy and took way to long to bake. I served with syrup and it still had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This strata seemed a bit bland to me somehow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Maybe its personal taste, but I didn't care for it at all. I don't like the soggy bread texture and like others said, it didn't end up having any flavor. The apples were the only good part. This is the first time for me that a high rated recipe on allrecipes.com didn't turn out delicious. What a disappointment :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Bland and flat tasting. I think maning french toast with raisin brand and adding toppings would be easier and quicker. Waste of time IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was so good and so easy to make! After reading other reviews, I added a little cinnamon vanilla to the egg mixture. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was easy to make & tasty! Not to sweet. I used granny smith apples. I plan to try it with various apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coaco1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Was kind of bland. Did not go over with my family & guest. To much cream cheese. I will make again, but, will cut the cream cheese in half & will add cinnamin, nutmeg & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very bland. Made it for Easter breakfast and no one really liked it. It lacked flavor. Perhaps more cinnamon or some vanilla or soemthing would have helped, but had alot left over because no one really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States