Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Some of my family do not like raisins. This is great even without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Second year in a row I made it for breakfast on Easter morning! My husband requested it. I used tart Granny Smith apples and served it with sifted powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I fixed this for Easter brunch, and it was delicious! My wife said it was like bread pudding, which is her favorite dessert. Like most others, I made some changes which worked well for me. I spread the cream cheese on each slice of bread before cubing and extra cinnamon as well as some freshly ground nutmeg. I also used only two cups of Half-and-half and 6 eggs which was enough for the 11" X 14" pan I used.When I make it next time, I'll toast the bread lightly to make spreading the cream cheese and cubing easier and will double the diced apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
It was yummy. Next time I'll add more apples and raisins, and do a finer chop on the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this dish today for Easter brunch. It was tasty; however, it was very rich. Next time, I would cut back on the creamed cheese and maybe use half milk and half "Half and Half. I think I would also add some chopped ham to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Yummy! I made 1/2 the recipe in a 8x8 pan. I put 4 whole slices of bread on the bottom, covered it with apples and raisins, put 4 more slices on top. Poured the wet ingredients on top and let it soak in for 1 hour (that's all the time I had). Before baking I added sugar and cinnamon and then baked it. Thanks to all the readers suggestions, this came out perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We liked this but thought the cream cheese gave it an odd, not-quite-baked-through texture. Next I make it, instead of baking the cream cheese into the strata, I will make a glaze or icing out of it to use as a topping after it comes out of the oven. With this change, I think it could be a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is delicious!! I added 5 eggs. Added cinnamon, cloves & ginger. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The recipe is a little bland as written, but it's pretty easy to spruce it up. I added 1 teaspoon each of vanilla and cinnamon, 3/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of cloves to the egg/cream mixture. I also used sugar-free syrup, half a package of neufchatel in place of a full package of cream cheese, and reduced the eggs from eight to six. I've had it with and without apples, and it's good both ways. Definitely bake a little longer/hotter than listed, or it may be pretty mushy in the middle. An hour at 350 was perfect for me. It's also *much* tastier the day *after* baking. It takes on a moister consistency, which some people might not like, but it gives the post-baking flavors a chance to meld together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States