Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Did some tweaking after reading several reviews and it was a big hit at my women's group. First of all, I just laid the slices in the pan. I reduced the half-and-half to 2 cups and left rest of egg mixture the same. I poured half of this egg mixture over the bottom layer of bread. I used 8 oz of whipped cream cheese mixed with 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 c sugar. I spread this evenly over the bread. I then added the apple layer (I used pie filling). I added another layer of bread and poured the remaing egg mixture over it. I let it sit overnight in fridge and then baked it in the morning @ 350 for 55-60 min. The bread turned out the perfect texture of french toast with a creamy center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I used french bread (and a couple of sprouted wheat hot dog buns!) torn into small pieces and stirred with a softened cream cheese/brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Added that to the pan and topped with 3 med. apples, also mixed with a little brown sugar and cinnamon, and chopped very fine. I didn't bother to peel the apples, and I didn't add any raisins. Added the other 1/2 of bread on top and poured the egg/milk combo over. I used 6 eggs and 1 1/4c heavy whipping cream and 1 1/4c. whole milk and 2TBS of the maple syrup. Baked @ 350 for 45 min, with foil on the first 15 min. We drizzled with a little more maple syrup before eating. The closer it is to room temperature the more delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I followed the directions, it was tasty, but I was not pleased with the texture or the appearance. I would not serve this to guests. I did spread each slice of bread with the cream cheese, but it showed up on the plate as small curdled looking lumps. It has a custard texture, which is fine if that's what your wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I had made it a few times already. I made it this way and I also changed up the fruits using strawberries and then cherries. Each time it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Some of my family do not like raisins. This is great even without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Second year in a row I made it for breakfast on Easter morning! My husband requested it. I used tart Granny Smith apples and served it with sifted powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I fixed this for Easter brunch, and it was delicious! My wife said it was like bread pudding, which is her favorite dessert. Like most others, I made some changes which worked well for me. I spread the cream cheese on each slice of bread before cubing and extra cinnamon as well as some freshly ground nutmeg. I also used only two cups of Half-and-half and 6 eggs which was enough for the 11" X 14" pan I used.When I make it next time, I'll toast the bread lightly to make spreading the cream cheese and cubing easier and will double the diced apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
It was yummy. Next time I'll add more apples and raisins, and do a finer chop on the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this dish today for Easter brunch. It was tasty; however, it was very rich. Next time, I would cut back on the creamed cheese and maybe use half milk and half "Half and Half. I think I would also add some chopped ham to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Yummy! I made 1/2 the recipe in a 8x8 pan. I put 4 whole slices of bread on the bottom, covered it with apples and raisins, put 4 more slices on top. Poured the wet ingredients on top and let it soak in for 1 hour (that's all the time I had). Before baking I added sugar and cinnamon and then baked it. Thanks to all the readers suggestions, this came out perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States