Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I changed a few things to make it more like baked stuffed french toast. I layered the bread slices across the bottom and then spread the cream cheese (creamed together with a little vanilla,cinnamon, and sugar)then a layer of sliced apples and finally another layer of bread slices. Pour the egg mixture over the top and sprinkle with more cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My family and I enjoyed the original recipe, but I like to add the extra raisins as well as a sprinkling of nutmeg, allspice, ground cloves, and extra cinnamon, and I am generous with the apple. I think it works best with a good quality bread that isn't too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made this for a family reunion and used cinnamon bread (my sister hates raisins:)). I added 2 eggs to the recipe and it set very well. Texture was great and the kids loved it - as did the adults - it is rich so if i make it again i will cut down on the cream cheeses. I used fat free half and half which worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
An interesting cross between french toast and bread pudding- not sure if i will make this again, however
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great dish! I took this to a "Dining Divas" brunch (a picky bunch) and everyone asked for the recipe. I may omit the cream cheese the next time. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was delicious! I took another reviewer's advice and spread the cinnamon bread with cream cheese before cubing. You couldn't really taste it. Next time, I'll skip this step. I also changed the cook temp to 350, but it still took 40min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I took this to a brunch this morning and everyone raved about it. I used Aunt Hattie's raisin bread, added more raisins,the cinnamon and vanilla suggested by other reviewers. What a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Boy, did I score the attaboys on this one. What I did different: Used lots more apples -- about 2.5 cups total. Added 1/2 cup golden raisins, and together with the increased apples, the amount of fruit seemed just right. There's just something about butter, warm fruit and maple syrup...Used a 1 lb loaf of "Cinnabon" brand bread. If you make this, you will forever be regarded as the world's best cook... And it is so EZ!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Delicious. Since I only have a 5/13 inch baking dish and I used the quantities given, I made two and only had enough apple for one of them. I wonder had I made just one dish, would the apple be enough? I melted the cream cheese and mixed it up with the other ingredients, instead of putting it in in dollops. I also increased the cooking time as per a reviewer's advice, but it came out a bit overcooked, so the 45 min in the oven should be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Made this as a brunch gift and received rave reviews. Following other's suggestions, I: used Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Raisin bread,spread the cream cheese before cubing, used whipping cream instead of half and half, added additional raisins, used only 6 eggs, added to the egg mixture-1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Also used Granny Smith apples. Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States