Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Made this recipe for a sunday brunch with friends and everyone enjoyed it. I didn't have the right size pan, so I had to improvise and I misread the recipe and put in twice the amount of butter the recipe asked for, but it was still delicious. I also added vanilla and cinnamon even though the recipe didn't include that. I loved that you can make the recipe the day before and then pop it in the oven the morning you need it. In the future I might use less cream cheese and more apples. I would also suggest using really good bread. definitely would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is soooo wonderful...but I have a question - Does anyone out there in allrecipes land know if this could be frozen before baking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I changed a few things to make it more like baked stuffed french toast. I layered the bread slices across the bottom and then spread the cream cheese (creamed together with a little vanilla,cinnamon, and sugar)then a layer of sliced apples and finally another layer of bread slices. Pour the egg mixture over the top and sprinkle with more cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My family and I enjoyed the original recipe, but I like to add the extra raisins as well as a sprinkling of nutmeg, allspice, ground cloves, and extra cinnamon, and I am generous with the apple. I think it works best with a good quality bread that isn't too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made this for a family reunion and used cinnamon bread (my sister hates raisins:)). I added 2 eggs to the recipe and it set very well. Texture was great and the kids loved it - as did the adults - it is rich so if i make it again i will cut down on the cream cheeses. I used fat free half and half which worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
An interesting cross between french toast and bread pudding- not sure if i will make this again, however
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great dish! I took this to a "Dining Divas" brunch (a picky bunch) and everyone asked for the recipe. I may omit the cream cheese the next time. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was delicious! I took another reviewer's advice and spread the cinnamon bread with cream cheese before cubing. You couldn't really taste it. Next time, I'll skip this step. I also changed the cook temp to 350, but it still took 40min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I took this to a brunch this morning and everyone raved about it. I used Aunt Hattie's raisin bread, added more raisins,the cinnamon and vanilla suggested by other reviewers. What a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States