Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A few changes: 6 eggs, 2 cups whole milk, honey instead of maple syrup. Turned out firm and not runny. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Made this for my Sunday School Class. It was super simple and great to make the night before. I cubed the cinnamon bread on the bottom, but placed the slices on top, overlapping just slightly. Then sprinkled with powdered sugar, and served with warm maple syrup. Made a nice presentation. I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsmom
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I plan on cooking this for tomorrow with the added suggestions of vanilla, etc. I wanted to make a suggestion to people who think this is too soggy. Prepare the strata the night before. Cover with plastic wrap. Your bread should be day-old (left out overnight to dry or dried in the oven). Put a couple of 1lb. bags of dried beans or rice in a ziptop bag and put them on top of the strata. Let sit in the fridge on a tray overnight. Your bread will soak up all of the moisture and your strata will not be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I usually make it the night before and just pop it in the oven while I'm getting ready. I like to spread the cream and cheese on the bread then cut up the bread slices in cubes ( that means I end up using less than 8 oz). Also I used less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Corza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I took other's suggestions and reduced eggs to 6, added some vanilla to eggs, added brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla to the cream cheese and spread it on the slices of bread prior to cubing them and upped the oven temp to 350. My oven thermometer confirmed the temp of the oven so I know that was OK but even after 90 MINUTES in the oven this was just a soggy mush in the middle with the substance of tapioca. I can not imagine what it would have been like if I had used 8 eggs! I finally took it out and microwaved individual servings to get it to set up better. It was edible. After sitting for the 1/2 hour that we ate it set up a little more but not much. This got a unanimous 2-thumbs down from me, my husband, daughter, mother and 2-year old granddaughter who usually eats anything. I will definitely NOT be making this again. I would like to know how this ever came to look like the picture as I made it as listed but with LESS liquid! No way would I have gotten a "slice" out as pictured above. If I could have rated 0 stars I would have but we'll say that the 1 star is for the fact that it smells divine while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I made this for a church event and got so many compliments on it. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was great and easy. My guests were very impressed. And I was thrilled b/c it only took me about 20 min to make. I also spread the cream cheese on the bread rather than putting in chunks and cut back on the butter (I think I did half, 3 TBSP).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was so good the whole family loved it. I made it for Christmas morning. This is for sure a recipe I will do over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forrest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The kids loved it. I used brown sugar-cinnamon flavored whipped cream cheese, rather than the lumps of cream cheese. It was easy to make, and it disappeared very quickly! We ate it before we went to church, and they came back and ate the rest when we got home... and they aren't usually good with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yummy. Changes taken from other reviews: - spread cream cheese on bread before cubing - use apple pie filling - use evaporated milk instead of cream - Bake at 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States