Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a hit at my Easter brunch. Made some simple changes, added enough apples to cover the pan, used the whole slice of bread instead of cubes, added a tsp of vanilla extract to the egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter breakfast, and I so wanted to like it, unfortunately it was very bland. Might try making it again and adding more cinnamon etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
As written, this was a gooey mess. We ate off the top, but the rest went to the chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This has been a crowd pleaser whenever I bring it to a brunch. Modifications- I beat the cream cheese w/ a hand mixer, add in 2tsp of vanilla extract and a tsp of cinnamon. I also use whole slices of bread and I spread the cream cheese mix on top of each slice as a previous reviewer said. I use the Cinnibon bread and golden raisins, it's amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlingnicky
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Not much flavor going on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I've never tried to make anything like this and have to say it was worth it! I used sunmaide cinnamon raisin bread. I spread each slice with cream cheese before cutting it into 9 sections and actually had trouble using all of the cream cheese. I only had 6 eggs and 2c of cream but it was just perfect. It puffs up quite a bit when it bakes but then sinks down again. I baked it uncovered for an hour. It definitely is better served with lots of syrup. Next time I will try adding some chopped nuts. Very delicious breakfast bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for a breakfast at work. It was a HUGE hit. The only changes I made were I added another half pound loaf of the bread and substituted 1 cup of whole milk. I also found it needed to bake longer than indicated, so give your self some wiggle time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
DELISH! Went super fast! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe, however I found that cooking time should be increased by about 30 mins otherwise the strata comes out soggy and make sure the caserole pan is NOT covered - it needs to breath as it cooks... A couple of changes I made was: substituted Store brand cinnamon-Raisin bagels instead of the raisin bread - the texture holds together better, added about a tablespoon of cinnamon and a cup of raisins to the middle layer. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I've made this twice and it is truly delicious and easy to put together. My hubby loves it and now I'm going to make it for a Valentine's day brunch with my in laws. I'm sure they'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States