Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very bland. Made it for Easter breakfast and no one really liked it. It lacked flavor. Perhaps more cinnamon or some vanilla or soemthing would have helped, but had alot left over because no one really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this for our church's Easter breakfast. It looked so yummy and had such good reviews that I didn't try it out first. It was a HUGE hit and I enjoyed making something new. We didn't get to eat it for about an hour after I took it out of the oven (it hung out in my Pyrex carrier), and I did not take extra maple syrup. It did not need it (probably because of the pie filling sweetening it up) but when I make it at home I will drizzle on more because you really can't have too much real maple syrup! Based on other reviews (and my being too tired to face peeling and dicing apples) I did substitute the can of apple pie filling for the diced apples. I also added a couple of handfuls of Craisins. I also heeded the advice to up the temp to 350 and baked for 50 minutes. I also used a few bags of beans to weigh it down as it soaked overnight. The strata puffs up A LOT, so be sure to use a large enough baking dish - not all 9x13 baking dishes are created equal. It will settle back down as it sits - after 5 minutes I was able to put the lid of my carrier on it with no problem. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Cut the entire recipe by 75% and made it in a 7 x 11 dish. Used Cinnamon Swirl w/out raisins, honey instead of maple syrup. Refrigerated for about 12 hours. Everyone loved it, second helpings all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The recipe was a hit with Easter brunch at my home. The changes I made were; doubling the recipe (used 11x15x3 glass dish), on one loaf I spread cream cheese on the slices of Pepperidge Farm Cinn Raisin bread, the other loaf I did not, the 2nd pkg of cream cheese was chunked and put on top of the apple layer, I added 1Tbsp of vanilla to the liquids, I used 2 ups of 1% milk (rather than 1/2 and 1/2) and 2 cans of apple pie filling carefully layered (rather than the work of peeling and coring fresh apples). It was covered with saran wrap and soaked overnight (didn't need to weigh it down). baked at 350 for 1 hr then kept in warming oven til serving. Next time I will spread the cream cheese on all of the bread...chunks were not the favorite. One 4x4 slice was enough for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Smelled great and looks beautiful. However, I followed the recipe to a "T" except that I baked it, uncovered, for over an hour at 350 degrees to try to and dry it out a bit. Consistency was mushy/slimy, flavor was very bland. Hard to believe that something that smelled this good was so devoid of flavor. I would not make again -- would need too many alterations to rescue this recipe. Something this unhealthy (fat, carbs, cholesterol, calories) should be far more delicious to be worth the nutritional sacrifice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
It was a hit at the office! It takes a while to cube the bread, so I left the slices whole on the bottom to save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very good. Tasted better after it cooled longer (30-45 minutes). I drizzled about 1/2 c. real maple syrup over top of strata & that improved the flavor also. Tip: the cream cheese is much easier to cube if you partially freeze the block first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was "ok" nothing great, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
So yummy! I used cinnamon bread (not a huge fan of raisins) and also mixed cream cheese with brown sugar and cinnamon before dolloping on 1st layer of bread. My kids and hubby loved this even more the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a hit with everyone Christmas morning. It needed a lot longer to cook and I ended up increasing the oven temperature and just blasting it with heat. I think baking for an hour to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States