Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We made this for Christmas breakfast this year; honestly I have had better french toast casseroles, so we will not repeat this. We added an extra apple, added cinnamon and vanilla to the egg mixture, and spread the cream cheese onto the bread slices as other reviewers suggested. We still didn't get a cinnamon taste, we missed a raisin presence, and the dish was very bland without a lot of syrup. It was easy to prepare, but I know there are better recipes to use for overnight casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was a great brunch meal for Christmas. I doubled the apple and added a bit of cinnamon. It got rave reviews and no one touched the maple syrup I had brought for a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I followed this recipe as written, except for adding a tsp of vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. I thought the flavor was wonderful! Having made it once, next time I will bake it at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBEREP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Thanks for the recipe AND all the hints! This was the HIT at the office! I followed quite a few of the variations: apple pie filling & sprinkling it w/ sugar & cinnamon; reducing it to 6 eggs; spreading cream cheese on the bread (I used whipped - it was so much easier to spread!); baking it for 1 hour @ 350 degrees; adding 1 tsp. vanilla to egg/cream mix; 1 cup half & half. I used Cinnabon Swirl bread, didn't include the raisins & didn't soak it overnight. It turned out PERFECTLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I followed some other reviewer's leads and used apple pie filling and it worked really well. I was a little worried about how it would taste since it looked kind of mushy but it really did taste like french toast! I was happily surprised. I think next time I may use smaller chunks of cream cheese or use others' suggestions of spreading it on the bread because while I liked the chunks and the taste of the cream cheese, after awhile it started to overpower the rest of the tastes in the dish. It's a keeper none the less. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was so good thank you. I made this dish twice. Both times I used 7 eggs and one pint of half & half ( 2 cups). I also spinkled cinammon on the apples. This french toast was a hit at Sunday school breakfast. I also made Breakfast Supreme from this site to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Having company over for the holidays? Needs something delicious and easy to serve? This is the perfect recipe. Make the night before, and cook in the morning. This was terrific. I followed the recipe to the tee and got rave reviews. Its very sweet though so be warned! :-) Yum Yum...this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CundysHarborGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harpswell, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
It was yummy and a nice treat for breakfast. I used 6 eggs and decreased the milk to a cup and a half but the bread was still soggy. I evenly lightly toasted the bread so that wouldn't happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very good. Made for Mary & Jerry. Add more apples and raisens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsweeney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I used all the great suggestions of those who made the recipe before me. It was wonderful. You did not even have to add syrup or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States