Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this for a baby shower brunch, and while I didn't try it, everyone raved about it (mommy-to-be, especially). I used french bread instead of raisin bread, so I added cinnamon and about 1/4 cup sugar and left out raisins. I used 7 medium sized eggs (didn't taste eggy at all, I was told). I microwaved the cream cheese for 15 seconds, added a drip of vanilla extract and 1/4 cup powdered sugar then spread it over the first layer of bread. I left it in the oven about 1 hour (I set the timer for 45, tuned the timer off when it went off, but forgot to take it out of the oven!) It was nicely cooked, however, very moist and slightly puffy. I drizzled a little syrup over the top after I took it out of the oven. No leftovers and have already forwarded the recipe to several guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENA75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
YUM, was great. I spread cream cheese on bread, then cut into cubes. Used 6 eggs, 2 apples, extra raisins and about 1.5 cup half and half, also added cinnamon and vanilla extract to the egg mixture. Took it to work and it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This recipe was a big Easter Brunch hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
i added more raisins and apples to it. i also spread the cream cheese on the bread first. it had a very good taste. all my boys loved it. i did wish i had cooked it a little longer though, as it was a little mushy. stayed good for a few days as leftovers and good in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is delicious adn easy! I used fat free half-and-half and it still came out great. It kind of reminds me of bread pudding (a good thing), try with some cool whip on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooknRN
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent dish! We really enjoyed this as I tend to stick to eggs and hot cereals for breakfast. It has inspired me to try more breakfast casserole type recipes. I made a few changes; used only 5 eggs, 2 apples, whole milk, a few sprinkles of cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla to the egg mixture. I also spread the cream cheese to whole slices of pepperidge farms cinnamon bread minus the crust- didnt' cube them. I have tried different breads and found this to be my family's favorite. My 3 year old loves this "breakfast toast". I look forward to making it for my MIL and her brother when they visit next month. Easy to prepare the night before and cook while in the shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was wonderful - I made it ahead for New Year's morning. Even our "picky" guest who doesn't eat eggs loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zuzana
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was wonderful. I wanted to use up my sweet potatoe biscuits I had in frezer so I used them instead of bread. I followed other reviewers and spread cream cheese on biscuits before cutting, used two apples and some raisins. I sprinkled some cinnamon straight on apples and that was enough of spices for me since my biscuits had already cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in them. I did not have half and half so I used 1 cup of heavy cream (all I had) and rest just 2% milk. It worked out so delicious and looked fabulous with powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I cant wait to try it with blueberries or strawberries when thet are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good! You may wish to try it as is first, but I make it with a few modifications. In order to cut back on the fat and up the maple flavor (I also didn't want it to be too soggy) I use only 6oz of low-fat cream cheese, 2 large granny smith apples, only 6 eggs, 1 1/2 cups skim milk instead of half n' half, and a 1/3 cup real maple syrup. It's wonderful for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is an amazing recipe. Just needs a few extra spices for my taste, so I add at least 1/4 tsp nutmeg , 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, to taste. (mix it in with the eggs, cream, butter, etc.) I also like the idea of spreading the cream cheese on the bread before cutting it up so the cr. cheese isn't so globby. Anyone would love this for a brunch/breakfast recipe and it really isn't hard at all. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States