Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was just okay. I'd rather just make Raisin French toast. Kinda dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly. It was pretty good but it just seemed to be missing something - I can't put my finger on it... ah well. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I was really excited to try this after reading the reviews. It just had very little flavor and the texture was not right. My husband and I tried some but my 2 sons wouldn't even have a taste. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made this for my husband for Father's Day breakfast. He and my three kids went crazy over it! I followed the directions exactly other than using fat free half and half. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Loved this breakfast! I actually used about 3/4 of a loaf of Berlin Bakery (R) Righeous Raisin bread because it's spelt bread and I'm allergic to wheat. It was still absolutely amazing! Another small change I did was instead of cubing the cream cheese, I sort of sliced it in order to make it layer the whole dish. Last change was that I used whipping cream instead of half and half. I would recommend this recipe highly to anyone. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
this was really good. i made a few changes: used a bunch of stale homemade bread cubes, some super dry; used half the cream cheese in cubes, 6 eggs, baked in a smaller glass baking dish, about 1 1/2 cups milk and whipping cream mixed, 2 tbsp. butter, forgot the maple syrup completely. amazingly, it turned out really good and the whole family loved it. some recipes are just immune to tinkering, this must be one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Just ok. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I was very dissapointed. I had high hopes for this Strata. I love the idea that you can prepare this beforehand. But the taste was bland (even though I added cinnamon to coat the apples). The texture was very mushy. THe raisins ended up tasting odd and the cream cheese didn't do anything. Too bad...it really sounded good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I made this for a baby shower brunch, and while I didn't try it, everyone raved about it (mommy-to-be, especially). I used french bread instead of raisin bread, so I added cinnamon and about 1/4 cup sugar and left out raisins. I used 7 medium sized eggs (didn't taste eggy at all, I was told). I microwaved the cream cheese for 15 seconds, added a drip of vanilla extract and 1/4 cup powdered sugar then spread it over the first layer of bread. I left it in the oven about 1 hour (I set the timer for 45, tuned the timer off when it went off, but forgot to take it out of the oven!) It was nicely cooked, however, very moist and slightly puffy. I drizzled a little syrup over the top after I took it out of the oven. No leftovers and have already forwarded the recipe to several guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENA75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
YUM, was great. I spread cream cheese on bread, then cut into cubes. Used 6 eggs, 2 apples, extra raisins and about 1.5 cup half and half, also added cinnamon and vanilla extract to the egg mixture. Took it to work and it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States