Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
this is ok. it is a little bland for my taste & I don't care for the soggy bread. I did follow the other reviewers advice & changed temp to 350. Baked for about 65 minutes. Spread the cream cheese on the trader joes cinnamon bread before I cut it up. Used apple pie filling (thought it would add more flavor). Used 7 eggs- but only 3 yolks. Used low-fat half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciencebaer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a really yummy recipe, I made it almost to the tee of the recipe. Instead of dicing the cream cheese I did slabs and tried to cover as much area as possible. My suggestion for the cream cheese is to freeze it so that it is firm before cutting and then dice it for a more even spread. It doesn't have to be frozen solid but just enough to make it easier to manage and use a very sharp knife. I sprinkled brown sugar, cinnamon and about 1 1/2 oz. of raisins on the apples, then a little more brown sugar on top on the last layer of bread. After 45 mins of baking I popped under the broiler for a couple mins (watch closely!) to crisp up the top and dry out a bit more as it was still a tad too wet. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina72913
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
It turned out pretty good. My coworkers loved it. I personally would add more raisins and cook a little bit longer than instructed. Other than that turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Everyone loved this, I took the advise of others and did add some vanilla. I also whisked the cream cheese into the egg mixture so that it wasn't big chunks in the strata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
While I really liked this dish, my household wasn't thrilled by it as I had hoped, but they are wierd! Plus note, it keeps well and I had it each day for breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Made this for a brunch at a friend's. It got rave reviews, but I wasn't too impressed. Tasted like a cross between a quiche & bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Gosh so frustrating. I'm blending two recipes in my mind. Well, I recall that the cream cheese is better in chunks than spread on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
made the recipe as is.... thought it was a little bland. I love cream cheese, but i don't think it adds anything to this. If i made it again i think i would leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I recently made this for a brunch and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was just okay. I'd rather just make Raisin French toast. Kinda dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States