Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made this for an office brunch: not a scrap left, and four people asked for the recipe. The only full-calorie ingredient I used was the butter (used fat-free half & half, neufchatel cheese, and Better 'n' Eggs egg substitute), and this came out great. I only soaked it for an hour and forty minutes, as that was all the time I had. I did weight the casserole with a bag of water, as someone suggested in an earlier review. I set the oven to 375 degrees, then set it back to 350 when I put the casserole in the oven. I plan to make another this weekend for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Was good, but a bit bland. Will try it again with cinnamon swirl bread and fewer raisins but add pecans on top. Might try adding a splash of rum and serve it for dessert. Great potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for dinner along with a savory strata. I used cinnamon bread & added some raisins as suggested... excellent! I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Can I give this 10 stars?? AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Ok so i didn't have any cinnamon raisin bread so i used some of my wheat bread that was a few days old. It wasn't as sweet as if I would have used the suggested bread so I know if i did it would be fantastic. I added some dried orange cranberries in place of the raisins. I sprinkled some powdered sugar over the top to up the sweetness to what it would be if I used the cinnamon bread. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
We did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great. Made it for a brunch and I got several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
We have friends come visit every year and I always try to have a special breakfast the first morning and they absolutely loved this dish! The only thing I changed was I didn't use raisin bread..just cinnamon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I have made this recipe several times. The first exactly per recipe. Since then, we have opted to eliminate the apples, and top it with chopped pecans before baking - then drizzle generously with caramel sauce (the kind you buy for ice cream) when it comes out of the oven! YUMMM - Carmel Pecan French Toast Strata!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I crave this dish all the time. I would say that you probably don't have to use a whole entire package of cream cheese (and I love cream cheese). Topped with syrup, this dish is mouth watering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States