Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this so much, we are having Sunday for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Made this recipe for a sunday brunch with friends and everyone enjoyed it. I didn't have the right size pan, so I had to improvise and I misread the recipe and put in twice the amount of butter the recipe asked for, but it was still delicious. I also added vanilla and cinnamon even though the recipe didn't include that. I loved that you can make the recipe the day before and then pop it in the oven the morning you need it. In the future I might use less cream cheese and more apples. I would also suggest using really good bread. definitely would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is soooo wonderful...but I have a question - Does anyone out there in allrecipes land know if this could be frozen before baking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I changed a few things to make it more like baked stuffed french toast. I layered the bread slices across the bottom and then spread the cream cheese (creamed together with a little vanilla,cinnamon, and sugar)then a layer of sliced apples and finally another layer of bread slices. Pour the egg mixture over the top and sprinkle with more cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My family and I enjoyed the original recipe, but I like to add the extra raisins as well as a sprinkling of nutmeg, allspice, ground cloves, and extra cinnamon, and I am generous with the apple. I think it works best with a good quality bread that isn't too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made this for a family reunion and used cinnamon bread (my sister hates raisins:)). I added 2 eggs to the recipe and it set very well. Texture was great and the kids loved it - as did the adults - it is rich so if i make it again i will cut down on the cream cheeses. I used fat free half and half which worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
An interesting cross between french toast and bread pudding- not sure if i will make this again, however
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great dish! I took this to a "Dining Divas" brunch (a picky bunch) and everyone asked for the recipe. I may omit the cream cheese the next time. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was delicious! I took another reviewer's advice and spread the cinnamon bread with cream cheese before cubing. You couldn't really taste it. Next time, I'll skip this step. I also changed the cook temp to 350, but it still took 40min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States