Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Mixed reviews at our house. I really liked it, tho it needed to cook longer than the recipe says (more like an hour.) My husband and daughter thought it was too goopy in the middle and didn't like the cream cheese in it. I may try to make it again without the cream cheese and cooked much longer to dry out the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Had this for Christmas. Thanks Terrie! My family really enjoyed the fact that it wasn't too sweet. Those of us with a sweet tooth could add syrup if we wanted. Like others, I also spread the cream cheese on the bottom layer of bread. I also used two apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My daughter said "muy bien"! Used Pepp. Farm whole wheat raisin bread and threw in a handful of extra raisins, and a few more apples (the one apple I used was HUGE). Only used six eggs and think I would go with the full amt next time...did not get done in time allotted even at 350. Also, I only used 1/2 pkg. cream chesse which was plenty. Would probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This strata was soooo delicious!! I modified the recipe according to some of the other members: I added cinnamon and sugar to the cream chesse then spead it on each slice of Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon and Raisin bread before cubing; added additional raisins; and increased the temperature to 350 degrees for 1 hour, the first half-hour covering with foil. It turned out absolutely perfect. It was not too sweet and the addition of maple syrup on the finished product was even more scrumptious! A real winner at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
i made this recipe as stated and it was good but it needs more cooking time. It was soggy and definately underdone when i served it. After putting it back in the oven for about 20 min., it was much better. I would add cinnamon next time for more flavor. Kind of reminds me of the bread pudding my mother made when i was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
We were supposed to have company and so I chose this recipe to make for for Sunday Brunch. The company could not come as snow made the roads impassable and so it was just us 4. My son and I did not like it, my hubby and daughter like it a lot. I am not into sweet breakfasts and my son does not like the textures of stratas, quiches etc. My husband thinks it should be a keeper recipe. The recipe was easy to follow, I added cinnamon and vanilla to the cream cheese mix and whisked it soft and tossed the bread cubes in it. I bought a loaf or raisin/cinnamon bread a couple days early so the texture was a little denser and not so soft, worked well. It made so much that after 3 days I had to throw out 1/2 of the pan since no one wanted to eat any more. It would probably ok if you had a large crowd for Brunch and served something hearty as well for all the people who are not into sweet breakfast foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I used 2 apples diced with skin on. I used extra raisins. i tried spreading the cream cheese on the bread but it was better with chunks of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Huge hit! I added dried cranberries instead of raisins and used less eggs like some other reviews suggested. I didn't peel the apples one of the times I've made it, and it still was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow! Made this for brunch on Sunday. Followed the recipe exactly. Everyone loved it. Kind of a cross between strata & bread pudding. Served it with maple syrup & sausage links. Might try crumbling the sausage after browning & adding to the strata next time. Thanks for a great recipe. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this so much, we are having Sunday for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States