Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I took other's suggestions and reduced eggs to 6, added some vanilla to eggs, added brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla to the cream cheese and spread it on the slices of bread prior to cubing them and upped the oven temp to 350. My oven thermometer confirmed the temp of the oven so I know that was OK but even after 90 MINUTES in the oven this was just a soggy mush in the middle with the substance of tapioca. I can not imagine what it would have been like if I had used 8 eggs! I finally took it out and microwaved individual servings to get it to set up better. It was edible. After sitting for the 1/2 hour that we ate it set up a little more but not much. This got a unanimous 2-thumbs down from me, my husband, daughter, mother and 2-year old granddaughter who usually eats anything. I will definitely NOT be making this again. I would like to know how this ever came to look like the picture as I made it as listed but with LESS liquid! No way would I have gotten a "slice" out as pictured above. If I could have rated 0 stars I would have but we'll say that the 1 star is for the fact that it smells divine while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I made this for a church event and got so many compliments on it. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was great and easy. My guests were very impressed. And I was thrilled b/c it only took me about 20 min to make. I also spread the cream cheese on the bread rather than putting in chunks and cut back on the butter (I think I did half, 3 TBSP).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was so good the whole family loved it. I made it for Christmas morning. This is for sure a recipe I will do over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forrest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The kids loved it. I used brown sugar-cinnamon flavored whipped cream cheese, rather than the lumps of cream cheese. It was easy to make, and it disappeared very quickly! We ate it before we went to church, and they came back and ate the rest when we got home... and they aren't usually good with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yummy. Changes taken from other reviews: - spread cream cheese on bread before cubing - use apple pie filling - use evaporated milk instead of cream - Bake at 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I'm not sure how to rate this recipe. I followed all directions exactly... except I put the oven at 350. Even at 350 I baked this for 1 hour 20 minutes and it still was not done. Everyone had a piece (just my husband, 3 kids, and me) and all said it was good. The second half of it is now back in the oven to see if it will firm up a bit. So..... flavor is good, cook time is inaccurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I wasn't that impressed with this. It was good, but just not very flavorful. I cut the recipe in half and then still only used 3 eggs. It wasn't soggy or dry - just perfect there. But it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Good but very wet. My son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this for our Christmas breakfast & everyone loved it! I did only use 6 eggs as suggested by others, but everything else I kept the same. In the future I may add a bit more apples. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States