Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This is delicious! I added nuts and used mascarpone cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I have made it many times over the years. I freeze the whole bread and slather the frozen slices with soft cream cheese or Neufchâtel cheese. Not so messy and it tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This was really good and looked great. I served this for Easter brunch. Used Pepperidge Farm Brown Sugar/Cinnamon swirl bread and basically followed the directions. Cut the cream cheese into very small bite sized pieces, cut up two apples and added extra raisins. I let my strata soak for 16 hours. Next morning, bake for 45, and let it sit for 15. I will try the brown sugar/cinnamon topping the next time for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Very filling. We use whatever fruit is on hand and sometimes use craisins or currants instead of raisins. I usually use plain whole-wheat bread and add my own spices (cardamom, nutmeg, cloves, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This is a fancy good old bread & butter pudding. I can't buy raisin bread so I used ordinary bread and I had raisins macerating in cognac. It was absolutely delicious The only thing was that the apple slices remained firm, so the next time I will cook them in the butter first. Also. for me, this is a dessert. and I certainly would not like it for breakfast. Yuk! Yuk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this last year as per the recipe. It was delicious except I didn't care for the globs of cream cheese. I am making it this year without the cream cheese. Will let you know how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
DELICIOUS. Used about half the cream cheese and spread it on each slice as other did. Used sunmaid raisin bread and two less eggs and fat free half and half which as someone else said went undetected.I think this could easily use half the amount of butter. Might also try this without cream cheese someday... Not sure it adds anything. Two Honeycrisp apples worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I didn't have raisin bread so I used 12 slices of white bread and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on it. I also didn't have raisins on hand so I added half a cup of dried cranberries. Layered the cream cheese, mine had been frozen so it was kind of just crumbly. Added three apples chopped and another hand full of cranberries on top. Then the rest of the bread and another sprinkle of cinnamon sugar mixture. To the egg mixture I used whole milk as that is what I had on hand, real maple syrup and I added a drop of butter flavoring and a drop of vanilla and another couple table spoons of the cinnamon sugar mixture. My guys told me that it won't keep so they are having thirds. I think will keep fine but they really like it! The tart of the cranberries and apples goes great with the sweetness of this dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I used 6 eggs instead of 8 and baked it for an hour. I added a lot of cinnamon, freshly grated nutmeg and cloves and it still was pretty bland.Didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Next time cook 15 min longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States