Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Okay folks - have made this twice, 1st time as the original recipe called for and the 2nd time, took into account all the reviews.... Used 1/2 cinnamon raisin bread and half french bread, added nutmeg, increased the eggs to 8 and the cooking time to 1 hour with the last 25 minutes uncovered! Same amount of cinnamon... Fed eight hungry BIG men who sang my praises. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
The flavor for this recipe was very good. The one thing I would change the next time I make it would be to use a loaf of Pepperidge Farm's Cinnamon Swirl or Cinnamon Raisin Swirl French Toast Bread. I would also cube the bread in one inch pieces as opposed to just keeping it in slices. It is much easier to serve if the bread has been cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I am having a New Year's Eve brunch party for my son's first birthday, and have been experimenting with recipes. This one is making an appearance! It turned out great, especially thanks to the reviews. The only thing I am going to do differently when I make it on Friday night is use 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup....there was a buttery film swimming underneath the bread. We had to drain it, no biggie. Per other's suggestions, I used Pepperidge Farm Brown Sugar Cinnamon French Toast Bread, cubed (since I will be feeding a large crowd). Because of the bread, I omitted the cinnamon, except for a dash of cinnamon to the apple mixture. I also omitted the raisins, personal preference. I also soaked the bread cubes only in the egg mixture, instead of pouring it over.......I agree with the other reviewer, why would you want your apples swimming in egg? Yuck. This way worked great.....the casserole ended up sitting in fridge for 14 hours before being baked, (1/2 hr covered, 15 min uncovered) and the bread was PERFECT! Puffy and moist, but not soggy. Thank you for a fantastic brunch recipe! I tried Creme Brulee French Toast also off this site, not nearly as good as this! 1/1/06 - this was a HUGE hit at the brunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I made this for my students and it is absolutely delicious. The only thing I would do differently next time is put the bread in first like in some of the other recipes, then the egg mixture, and the apple-raisin mixture on top. The bread was very crispy and did not soak up the eggs entirely. I will make this again when my kids come home for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I made this recipe for brunch and it was very well received! I used a loaf of raisin bread instead and omitted the raisins. I also dipped each piece of bread in the egg mix before laying it over the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I served this at a celebration brunch and there was nothing left! Several people asked for the recipe. I added a little nutmeg in with the apples and sprinkled a little cinnamon and nutmeg on the bread before putting it in the oven. It seemed a little moist after baking uncovered for 5 minutes, so I left it in for about 10 minutes and it was fine. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Dust the top with powdered sugar and you've got a nice presentation too! For those of you who had problems with egg moisture, make sure you pack the bread in. Mine was so tight that it was puffed up when it came out of the oven. I also substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for 1 cup of the milk. It was delicious! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I have served this recipe many times and everyone raves. It's a nice change (or addition) to the usual buffet egg bake. 3/4 of the way through I pressed the bread down into the mixture with a fork, allowing it to soak up the syrup. I did that again when it was out of the oven cooling. It was more moist. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I was so excited about this recipe but it didn't turn out like I'd hoped. Too much egg I think. I'm going to try it again but this time I'm going to soak the bread in the egg mixture first and then lay them on top of the apples and raisins. That way it's only egg in the bread and not all around the apples. I'm hopeful for the next try though. It's a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Excellent and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States