Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I haven't found anyone who hasn't been wowed by this dish--and so simple to prepare. I make it with egg substitue, 2 1/2 cups whole milk, eliminate the half n' half and since I use a raisin bread I reduce the brown sugar to 1 cup. I also like that there is no need to serve butter or syrup with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
My kids loved this! I took it to our Sunday School for Breakfast and it was nearly all gone. I sprinkled brown sugar on top and powered sugar for extra flavor to the french bread. Hot with whip cream is great as well!! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastman, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Thanks to your Mother and then to you for sharing this absolutely wonderful recipe..the best french toast we've ever had! I used golden raisins, and maybe next time I'll add pecans..thanks again, Enlee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Yes, the flavor of this is delicious but the presentation is a bit lacking. The eggs don't really come up and around the bread and when it's baked it looks like a pan of bread slices! I think it may need more liquid or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I made this the night before so all I had to do was put it in the oven the next morning. The bread was just too soggy and never dried up. It was too mushy to eat. The next morning, I put it in the oven again to dry up and it still never dried up enough to eat. Such a shame, because the ingredients go together so well. Perhaps, I did something wrong! I am going to try it again, but with 1/2 as much egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I made this for Easter morning. It was excellent. It was also great reheated the next day. I will be making this for other holidays as well, the night before preparation is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This is a great recipe!! Absolutely delicious, all my guests raved about it, and it was very easy to prepare. I don't know what the previous reviewer meant about sogginess, maybe it was prepared incorrectly because mine was not soggy at all. You don't even need to add syrup because it is delicious on it' own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Coming out of the oven this casserole will make your house smell like cinnamon and apples. I made this for a brunch one Sunday. I received a lot of compliments and people really liked it. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Made this for friends for brunch and made it the night before. Everyone loved it! I was able to enjoy their company while the food cooked so I didn't miss anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
this turned out much too sweet for my taste - too much syrup. the bread part was kind of bland compared to the apple/syrup mixture. i dont think i will make this again, unless i use only 1/3 to half of the sugar and add more spices to the bread mixture. if you like very sweet and a lot of syrup this would be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States