Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I made this exactly as listed. Fabulous! Will certainly make again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This recipe is awesome!! I've already had 3 people ask me for the recipe. I read the reviews and followed some of the modifications. I used Cinnabon Raisin bread but I also tried it with Sunmaid and they were both excellent. (I also reduced the amount of cinnamon and raisins added because of the bread) I soaked the bread separately and then layered it on top of the apple mixture (I used Fuji apples) and I also uncovered the dish after 30 minutes to give it a nice golden brown top. My guests went nuts....all I could hear around the table was mmmmm, ahhhhhh, ohhhh. Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I have made it a few times but still haven't figured out the right apples to use. I'm a beginner in the kitchen so I wish the recipe would have specified what apple to choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ireland

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe has become a standard every time I host brunch. I make it exactly as posted. Even my picky niece and nephew like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Served this for Easter Brunch and people did enjoy this. Very easy to make and we follow the suggestions by soaking the bread (did the 1" cubes")and used the cinnamon swirl bread. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Made this for Easter breakfast, Too sweet, too much butter. I would make it again with half of the brown sugar and half of the butter called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Simply divine! The only change I made was using egg bread from the bakery. I cut it into large cubes and made sure each was drenched in the batter before layering over the apples. We ate this for New Year's Day and everyone had large second servings! I think this will be my New Year's Day brunch meal going forward. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah W
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Based on other reviews, in order to cut down some fat, I used 3/4 C brown sugar and only 1/4 C butter. Also, I used a loaf of raisin bread from the bakery section of the store - I think the result was great. I took each bread slice and soaked it for 1-2 minutes, before laying over the apples (rather than pouring the egg mixture.) Midway through making this recipe, I realized it was supposed to be refrigerated overnight. I went forward with it and the french toast turned out totally fluffy and moist - so I don't actually know what the benefit of sitting overnight would be. The flavor was great, though the vanilla was a bit overpowering and I will reduce a bit next time. I was craving seconds by lunchtime! I kept this in the fridge for almost a week and had it for breakfast, and it never lost its flavor or texture. This would be delicious as a dessert, too, with vanilla ice cream and a hot brandy sauce. Yum! Will make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Little too sweet on the bottom layer, it overwhelmed the french toast part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
So delicious!!! Made this Christmas eve for breakfast on Christmas day. Was a huge hit. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States