Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this last year for Christmas and it was a HUGE hit! It was great to be able to prepare it the night before & just pop it in the oven in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was excellent. I made it Christmas eve night to bake for Christmas morning. It was an easy breakfast and I substituted dried cranberries for raisins to make it more seasonal. It tastes much like bread pudding and does not need any added syrup. When I served it, I spooned servings so that the apples and cranberries topped the "toast" layer. It looked lovely on the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made this for my dads birthday. I made it with splenda brown sugar. It worked out great, everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
one word - awesome! I used homemade cinnamon/honey bread instead of a baguette. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a family breakfast and got comments such as "This is the best baked french toast I've ever had!" So, I consider it a keeper. The main difference that I made was I made my own cinnamon raisin bread in the breadmachine - very easy and about 1 1/2 loaves from the recipe I used yielded the perfect amount. In case anyone is interested - here's the bread recipe with some changes from the recipezaar: 1 cup water 2 T butter/marg 2 cups all purpose flour 1 cup whole wheat flour 3 T white sugar 1 T brown sugar 1 1/2 t salt 2-3 t cinnamon (depending on preference) 2 1/2 t yeast 1 1/2 cups raisins (soaked in hot water before hand and added at the "add in" beep from the machine) Put the bread on the sweet bread setting with light crust. I made the bread and cubed it, then soaked it in the egg mixture I made without the cinnamon because the cinnamon was in the bread and I added a lot. I also did not add the raisins with the apples because the raisins were already in the bread. But I did include the cinnamon with the apples and brown sugar mixture. Some reviews give you different options, but I followed the recipe and put the apples on the bottom of the pan and then the bread on top. The apples kinda carmelized down there and made a wonderful syrupy part of the dish to spoon on top of the moist bread. I followed the refrigerating and baking instructions of the recipe and it turned out, like I said, fabulous. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Okay folks - have made this twice, 1st time as the original recipe called for and the 2nd time, took into account all the reviews.... Used 1/2 cinnamon raisin bread and half french bread, added nutmeg, increased the eggs to 8 and the cooking time to 1 hour with the last 25 minutes uncovered! Same amount of cinnamon... Fed eight hungry BIG men who sang my praises. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this dish for an early morning meeting and it turned out great. I used cream instead of milk, and I omitted the raisins and used half the cinnamon because I used the cinnamon raisin bread. I also soaked the bread in the egg mixture before placing it over the apples. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I made this exactly as listed. Fabulous! Will certainly make again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This recipe is awesome!! I've already had 3 people ask me for the recipe. I read the reviews and followed some of the modifications. I used Cinnabon Raisin bread but I also tried it with Sunmaid and they were both excellent. (I also reduced the amount of cinnamon and raisins added because of the bread) I soaked the bread separately and then layered it on top of the apple mixture (I used Fuji apples) and I also uncovered the dish after 30 minutes to give it a nice golden brown top. My guests went nuts....all I could hear around the table was mmmmm, ahhhhhh, ohhhh. Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I have made it a few times but still haven't figured out the right apples to use. I'm a beginner in the kitchen so I wish the recipe would have specified what apple to choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ireland

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States