Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this over the weekend using some leftover oatmeal bread. I also followed the advice of others and cut WAY back on the butter (for the half-recipe I made, I used 2 tablespoons). I also put the apple-raisin mixture on top of the bread to allow any extra juicy yumminess to soak down into the bread. It turned out REALLY GOOD! A great cross between baked oatmeal and french toast, and certainly a perfect way to start a brisk day. My husband and son are already asking me to make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
While this came out moist and buttery - it really wasn't anything special and no one asked me for the recipe or told me it was good. I made it twice and both times it was mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I prepared this for Sunday brunch. This was FANTASTIC! The only changes I made, however, were to halve the butter (1/4 c was plenty!), add allspice to the apple mixture for richer "pie" taste, and I sprinkled the top with a little more brown sugar, cinnamon, and raisins. Delicious! Will definitely be trying this for Christmas day as well. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HereEatThis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I've been making this for 6 years now at camp and it is always a big hit! The kids prefer that I leave out the raisins, they are not used to eating raisins in Europe! Go figure! With or without the raisins this is a GREAT recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Good. Very easy to put together. I used SunMaid Cinnamon Raison bread and put it at the bottom with the apple mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this for my breakfast day at work and it was a huge hit! I tweaked it a bit to make it healthier and it still came out fantastic! Here are my changes: 1) used one loaf whole wheat cinnamon raisin bread, cubed and toasted at 450 for 10 minutes (stirred bread cubes halfway through toasting); 2) used 1 cup egg beaters and 2 eggs (didn't have enough egg beaters to fully substitute, but will probably use all egg beaters next time); 3) mixed bread with egg mixture in bowl and then poured into bottom of casserole dish. 4) Spread apple/raisin mixture and syrup on top of bread (the apples tasted like baked cinnamon apples & were amazing!); 5) Baked covered for 30 minutes...had to bake almost 45 minutes uncovered to get to the right texture; 6) Dusted with powdered sugar just before serving. Next time I'll definitely cut back the butter to 1/4 cup--the top looked like it was swimming in butter at first and I had to drain it and blot with paper towels. I think my cooking time will be greatly reduced with less butter too--I was trying to get it to dry out after blotting the extra off! All in all, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Definitely a keeper! I served this for dinner on a night when my husband was managing the kids for dinner. I used apples, cranberries, fresh pineapple I had leftover and some chopped candied pecans (what the heck!). My oldest son said it was 'generally awesome' and my husband said he had to fight the kids to save some for me to eat when I got home. Love that you can prepare it ahead -- I let it soak for a couple of hours. I followed other reviewers advice and cut down to 2/3 stick of butter. Next time I'll try 1/2 stick of butter (1/4 cup), 2/3 cup brown sugar and whole wheat french bread to cut down on the sweetness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I used the cinnamon raisin bread it turned out great, I also don't marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this at work for family and staff, they absolutely loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recreation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Although this was very good, the caramel sauce on the bottom was to saucy. It would have been five stars if that sauce was just a little thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States