Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Definitely a keeper! I served this for dinner on a night when my husband was managing the kids for dinner. I used apples, cranberries, fresh pineapple I had leftover and some chopped candied pecans (what the heck!). My oldest son said it was 'generally awesome' and my husband said he had to fight the kids to save some for me to eat when I got home. Love that you can prepare it ahead -- I let it soak for a couple of hours. I followed other reviewers advice and cut down to 2/3 stick of butter. Next time I'll try 1/2 stick of butter (1/4 cup), 2/3 cup brown sugar and whole wheat french bread to cut down on the sweetness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I used the cinnamon raisin bread it turned out great, I also don't marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this at work for family and staff, they absolutely loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recreation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Although this was very good, the caramel sauce on the bottom was to saucy. It would have been five stars if that sauce was just a little thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used a loaf of cinnamon raison bread instead of french bread and threw in some chopped pecans. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I made it Christmas morning and was so yummy. I did a lot of cooking this Christmas and this is the best site for recipes. I didn't make this the night before, totally forgot, but it came out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I love this recipe! The only thing I changed was cutting the bread into half-inch slices instead of 1 inch. This helped the bread become completely wet when I poured on the egg mixture. Next time I will use about 1/2 to 2/3 less butter; there was too much at the bottom of the pan for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Fantastic! I used only 2 apples and cut down on the raisins and still great. Very easy and a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this last year for Christmas and it was a HUGE hit! It was great to be able to prepare it the night before & just pop it in the oven in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was excellent. I made it Christmas eve night to bake for Christmas morning. It was an easy breakfast and I substituted dried cranberries for raisins to make it more seasonal. It tastes much like bread pudding and does not need any added syrup. When I served it, I spooned servings so that the apples and cranberries topped the "toast" layer. It looked lovely on the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made this for my dads birthday. I made it with splenda brown sugar. It worked out great, everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States