Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This dish was okay, nothing extraordinary! I did cut the cream cheese in half since so many others thought it had too much, and I used lowfat half and half. I think some vanilla would make this dish better and possibly some cinnamon/sugar sprinkled on top. Another option would be to sweeten the cream cheese. It definitely needed the extra maple syrup on top to give it some flavor and sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Read the reviews before making this recipe. Based on the reviews, I made a half-recipe in the same size pan, arranging the fruit around the bread so the bread would soak up the egg mixture. I couldn't figure out how the bread could soak up the egg mixture when placed on top of the fruit. Anyway, what do they say about planning ahead? I didn't make my planned trip to the grocery store, so ended up using peaches and dried cherries (what I had) instead of apples and raisins (which I still want to try). I also did not put the additional cinnamon into the egg mixture; just sounded like a LOT of cinnamon... So after all that, the bottom line is that this was good, even with the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly as stated, except for using texas/french toast bread. I came out great! Everyone loved it. My son said the bread was mushy, but I didn't think it was mushy at all. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
My DH made this for breakfast and the end result was pretty good, although we found it a tad on the sweet side (but we added maple syrup before tasting it). We also found that there is too much bread for the egg mixture, so we had to increase the egg/milk mixture. We may make this again, but probably not for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I made this for our morning playgroup. This is quite a bit of food and the whole thing was gone! I also added some craisins as well This is one of my all time favorite recipes now! Just to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Loved it! I did cut down the butter and added just a bit more vanilla. I also left out the raisins and added pecans instead. I did not overnight the dish so I soaked the bread in the egg mixture separately. The top turned out crunchy and the inside creamy. Both my husband and I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
i made this last year for Easter Brunch. It was easy and tasted good, with wonderful comments. I just came back on to reprint recipe for our annual Easter Brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was much better than anticipated! Our family loves to have breakfast for dinner and I thought I'd try something different from plain old pancakes or eggs and toast. We did use syrup on top of our individual portions. This makes a lot and is very filling. The only downfall is the leftovers aren't nearly as good, they tend to get soggy. I'll keep this as a variety for our breakfast dinners but probably cut it in half for the 4 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
WAYYYYY too sweet. I made it according to the directions- except for that I soaked my french loaf slices in the egg mixture (as recommended by other reviews). This is more like a too sweet dessert. I made it for brunch and it was left un-eaten on plates. Nobody commented on it. It tastes like apple pie filling with double the sugar with french toast on top (that was still dry even though I soaked each piece). Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
A delicious and easy way to feed a crowd. Use non-stick foil on top when baking. I used golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States