Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I cut the recipe to 4 servings and used one small apple and one small pear in addition to the raisins; I also cut the sugar by a bit. I did need to bake the casserole for about 20 minutes longer than stated, but I like my French toast very firm. I also didn't make this the night before, but threw it together the morning of. Both DH and I were impressed with the flavors (though I think I put in cloves in place of cinnamon; it was VERY early and the bottles all look alike...) and the texture. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Good but not fantastic. May or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was served at a very remote location in the California Sierras for an intimate gathering of ~200 campers. Because of the scale, the birthday girl decided to substitute frozen peaches for the apples, and cranberries for the raisins. It was heaven! Everyone raved about it! I've made something like this before that did not call for fruit but after making it a couple of times I invented the apple slices on the top to help keep the bread from getting too crusty to eat. Generally, when the bread is on the top (unless you push it down like another review suggested) the bread gets too crunch to eat, especially for young kids. The peach version is fantastic (and easier than peeling apples). I don't think I'll go back to apples since this is so yummy! P.S. "ditto" on the "too sweet syrup" as mentioned in another review. I'm trying the brown sugar not packed and the fruit on the top; maybe that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Used the cin/raisin bread as suggested...upped the recipe to serve 30 for a large graduation brunch along with many other items. This was the "hit" of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Very sweet, a little too sweet even for my taste. I coated the bread with the mixture so I think that helps it not come out dry. I will make again, just with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Wow. Is this GOOD! I had to cut the recipe in half for my family. 9x13 was just too big, but it divided in half well. The only thing different I did was use half of a loaf of day-old homemade Eggnog Quick Bread. That had plenty of nutmeg, so I didn't add any to the egg. I used a Granny Smith for the apple/fruit part of the recipe. I did add cinnamon to both the fruit mixture and the egg mixture. This is FABULOUS. I'll be sure to make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was delicious! I substituted with Sun Maid raisin bread and cut into cubes like someone else suggested. Used 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar blend and only 1/4 cup of butter. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this for Easter with the in-laws coming over. It got rave reviews! Great recipe!!!! I also substituted 1/2 c of the milk with heavy cream. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very Tasty. I tried to make a bit healthier and I substituted Pepperidge Farm Whole Wheat Swirl Cinnamon Raisin bread. I also only used 1/4 cup of butter. The recipe was still very good and I would make this way again. However, I have made this recipe with the full 1/2 cup of butter and regular Cinnamon Raisin (not whole wheat) and I must say it is better that way. I guess it depends on if you feel like being a little naughty or not. I did quickly soak bread in the egg mixutre prior to layering onto the apple mixture and poured the excess over the bread afterwards. This assures it is not too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good recipe. Two guests have already requested the recipe. The only thing I changed was I cubed the bread instead of slicing to make serving easier. I also mixed the apples in with the bread instead of leaving on bottom of pan. Just because of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States