Apple Raisin Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Excellent, these were very easy to make and so healthy. For such healthy ingredients these tasted very good. I added extra cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg and topped with soy margerine.A hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My family loved this. I replaced the raisins with blueberries. (I add them after mixing the batter well, then put in the blueberries and softly stir.) They are so soft and moist that my mother-in-law can also enjoy them even though it's hard for her to eat most foods. I also use a good deal of powdered sugar and skip the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I must admit that I was not expecting too much from these.. but I was really impressed once I tried one! They aren't overly sweet, and I liked that about them. VERY filling and perfect for breakfast. I served with just a sprinkle of confectioner's sugar. If you are looking for a healthy, low-sugar breakfast, these won't disappoint you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I made this for my mom who is a diabetic and she loved it. Instead of adding 2 teaspoons of surgar I lightly sprinkled confectioners surgar over the top. I will definatly be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made these today for my Stepfather who is diabetic. I was impressed with the flavor and how easy they are to make! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Added a little nutmeg b/c I thought that sounded good but other than that followed the recipe exactly. This recipe turned out great! Healthy, easy, delicious! For anyone that said these were bland they need to get their taste buds checked out - the applesauce, cinnamon and raisins give lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
These cakes were so good we are going to make them in place of pancakes. Of course they will taste the best if you use your own applesauce as I did. Great for the holidays. Try srinkling some confectionery sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Wonderful. I used white flour, 'cause that's all I had, and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Skipped the sugar,and added 1/2 chopped fresh apple. Moist, delicious. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I had some applesauce I'd made from some almost past their best apples and the ends of a bag of raisins. I did an ingredient search and came up with these. I made exactly as written, used just under a 1/4 cup of batter for each cake and flattened them a bit with the back of a spoon when they were in the pan. These were a really great breakfast. I devoured 4 and had to restrain myself from eating a fifth. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
5 stars for delicious and nutritious. The only thing I changed was to add a chopped Granny Smith apple. My husband took a bite and gave me a suspicious look until I explained they they were healthy and had whole wheat flour and no oil in them. So he's been munching on them all morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States