Apple Raisin Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I must admit that I was not expecting too much from these.. but I was really impressed once I tried one! They aren't overly sweet, and I liked that about them. VERY filling and perfect for breakfast. I served with just a sprinkle of confectioner's sugar. If you are looking for a healthy, low-sugar breakfast, these won't disappoint you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
These were really good and super filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My family loved this. I replaced the raisins with blueberries. (I add them after mixing the batter well, then put in the blueberries and softly stir.) They are so soft and moist that my mother-in-law can also enjoy them even though it's hard for her to eat most foods. I also use a good deal of powdered sugar and skip the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made these today for my Stepfather who is diabetic. I was impressed with the flavor and how easy they are to make! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I made this for my mom who is a diabetic and she loved it. Instead of adding 2 teaspoons of surgar I lightly sprinkled confectioners surgar over the top. I will definatly be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I can see how people think this is a bland recipe, BUT if you serve them as 'pancakes' they would be wonderful with maple syrup. Making them as thin as possible will definitely help with the blandness problem as well. For the kids or even themed parties, try placing a cookie cutter on your griddle and pour your batter into that to get cute shaped cakes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Wonderful. I used white flour, 'cause that's all I had, and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Skipped the sugar,and added 1/2 chopped fresh apple. Moist, delicious. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
5 stars for delicious and nutritious. The only thing I changed was to add a chopped Granny Smith apple. My husband took a bite and gave me a suspicious look until I explained they they were healthy and had whole wheat flour and no oil in them. So he's been munching on them all morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I really did not like these. They were bland. This could just be a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Excellent, these were very easy to make and so healthy. For such healthy ingredients these tasted very good. I added extra cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg and topped with soy margerine.A hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States