Apple Raisin Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I was looking for recipes for apple cake, when this one came up. When I looked at it, I wasn't sure if it was pancakes or handheld cakes? As it was recommended by the "American Diabetes Association," I decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe exactly, except I was short a couple of tablespoons of raisins. It didn't seem to be a problem. It didn't say how to oil the pan, so I just sprayed it with PAM. I used a mashed potato scoop and got 7 cakes. They are way too dense and heavy to be a pancake and not quite exactly sweet enough to be a cake. I decided to go the cake route and drizzled them lightly with a vanilla glaze, similar to ones on this site. It was much more like a dense flat cake then. Just probably no longer diabetic approved. Interesting recipe, anyhow, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I used homemade applesauce in this recipe and omitted the sugar. I served these up like pancakes with homemade apple cider syrup. The family LOVED these. VERY filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
The blandness is because there's no salt! And no amount of applesauce, cinnamon or raisins can make up for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMILEYCOOKS
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Good flavor. A little dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I liked these though didn't "love" them. I would make them again though. They were good and healthy and my middle son (age 11) and husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Pretty good start, but yes a little bland like others said. It just needs some more cinnamon. I would suggest more sugar in the form of Splenda, but the pancakes are fine when you add syrup. Mine out turned thick as well, so I added about some milk until I got the consistency I wanted, probably 6T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great taste added apple chunks and walnuts. The only down side is they didn't spread maybe cause I add the nuts and apple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I had some applesauce I'd made from some almost past their best apples and the ends of a bag of raisins. I did an ingredient search and came up with these. I made exactly as written, used just under a 1/4 cup of batter for each cake and flattened them a bit with the back of a spoon when they were in the pan. These were a really great breakfast. I devoured 4 and had to restrain myself from eating a fifth. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Added a little nutmeg b/c I thought that sounded good but other than that followed the recipe exactly. This recipe turned out great! Healthy, easy, delicious! For anyone that said these were bland they need to get their taste buds checked out - the applesauce, cinnamon and raisins give lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Pretty good. My diabetic step-father really enjoyed them, my 2 yr old daughter did as well. I found them a little bland but still enjoyable. Just not my taste I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States