Apple Raisin Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
These cakes were so good we are going to make them in place of pancakes. Of course they will taste the best if you use your own applesauce as I did. Great for the holidays. Try srinkling some confectionery sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
These were very easy to make, but a touch plain. I switched the amounts of white and whole wheat flour for a more hearty flavor, and also added one small coarsely chopped granny smith apple (with peel) and a pinch of salt. Right before serving, I drizzled with low-sugar maple syrup and sprinkled with wheat germ. I bet these would be good with chopped nuts or other dried fruits too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
very delicious !!! it is a must try !! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Excellent, these were very easy to make and so healthy. For such healthy ingredients these tasted very good. I added extra cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg and topped with soy margerine.A hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I really did not like these. They were bland. This could just be a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
5 stars for delicious and nutritious. The only thing I changed was to add a chopped Granny Smith apple. My husband took a bite and gave me a suspicious look until I explained they they were healthy and had whole wheat flour and no oil in them. So he's been munching on them all morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Wonderful. I used white flour, 'cause that's all I had, and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Skipped the sugar,and added 1/2 chopped fresh apple. Moist, delicious. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I can see how people think this is a bland recipe, BUT if you serve them as 'pancakes' they would be wonderful with maple syrup. Making them as thin as possible will definitely help with the blandness problem as well. For the kids or even themed parties, try placing a cookie cutter on your griddle and pour your batter into that to get cute shaped cakes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I made this for my mom who is a diabetic and she loved it. Instead of adding 2 teaspoons of surgar I lightly sprinkled confectioners surgar over the top. I will definatly be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made these today for my Stepfather who is diabetic. I was impressed with the flavor and how easy they are to make! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States