Apple Puff Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I changed this recipe to the way that my aunt used to make it and we always loved it and still do... melt 4 tablespoons of butter in a 13x9 pan in the oven @ 375 degrees F, once the butter is melted place the apples over the butter and bake for 10 min till apples are soft. (we use 1 1/2 lbs of granny smith apples) When the apples are soft remove from oven and sprinkle a mixture of: 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg on top of apples. then set aside blend eggs, milk, flour, sugar, vanilla, salt and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. pour mixture over apples and bake at 375 degrees F for 35 minutes. This recipe does have an 'eggy' taste, so if you don't like eggs this recipe isn't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was so delicious! Similar to a recipe I made before, but just as good. This one with cinnamon in the batter was delicious! I did. blend the liquid ingredients until smooth, and baked it longer than the suggested time. I also added some cinnamon to the brown sugar topping. We devoured it. It's delicious cold or reheated as well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
My family and I really enjoyed this one, but I made the changes Caire suggested (and added even more cinnamon since we love lots of flavor). The 5 star rating is with the changes. It really becomes a different recipe after being changed so much. I kind of question how well it would work without those changes. By the way, my apple and butter mixture floated to the top when I poured in the batter. I didn't expect that, but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I've been making this for years and my family loves it. I looked it up at Allrecipes today to find out how to scale it upward. I modify this way -- I slice the apples and toss them with 1/4 tsp allspice and the cinnamon. Then heat the butter in the oven to melt, then add the apple slices and heat apples until they sizzle. Then I add the batter and and top with brown sugar and bake at 425 for 20 mins. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This is not what I would call a pancake-closer to an apple ommlet. I had a different recipe called the same thing and couldn't find it so I used this one. I had to use a casserole dish rather than the pan it called for so I let it cook a little longer. It puffed, was brown, looked done,set it on the table to serve it and the inside was still runny as could be. It ended up taking almost an hour to get done. I will compare my other recipe to this one and maybe try it when I find it but will not make this again-apples and eggs do not go well with this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
My nine year old got to take the first bite and I heard her shout,"this is soooo good!" That told me it was a success! I read some of the reviews and went by what a few people said, I reduced the milk to 1 cup, I also used only 1/2cup of all-purpose flour and added 1/2 cup of whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little more healthy. I substituted Stevia sweetener for the sugar for health purposes, and increased the cinnamon to 1/2tsp because we love cinnamon. This kind of reminded me of a caramelized apple upside down cake i make for Thanksgiving and I decided to caramelize the apples in the butter and brown sugar and drizzled a little honey over it and let that simmer on low heat for a couple minutes and flipped the apples over and let them finish caramelizing for a couple more minutes. I didn't have a 9x9in square pan so I just used a 9inch pie plate. I sprayed it with cooking spray first, thank goodness I did, poured the apples on the bottom and then poured the batter on top. I had to cook it for 23 minutes for it to get done all the way and it was beautiful when it came out. We loved it, didn't even need to put syrup on it. I will definitely make this again using my tweaks. Yummy and healthy, can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaladez3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Very dissapointed with the Apple Puff Pancake! Perhaps this recipe should be re-evaluated. Possible ingredient errors: too much egg and/or insufficient flour. Result...definitely mushy, custerd-like texture, flat and tasteless. I would have liked to have seen as well as tasted a more spongy and sweet pancake. Overall, no positve feedback. Thanks, E.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was a lot more dense than the traditional puffed apple pancake recipe I usually make from a recipe from my husband's grandmother. Not as good as grandma's recipe, but still good. It makes a pretty big pan and is extremely filling. Like some of the other reviewers mentioned, I also mixed the brown sugar into the apples at the bottom of the pan which gave it a nice caramel coating. Make sure you are hungry when you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
A delicious and very simple recipe. Great with bacon or sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Havana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was only O.K. Tasted like an egg custard rather than a puff pancake. Ended up throwing away after one setting because nobody else would eat any leftovers the 2nd time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States